Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bray, Co Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When cleaning a person's PC the first thing I generally install is Ccleaner.
    However if their are multiple users, I appear to have to install it for all users - there is no option to use the software for all profiles.

    Am i missing a setting somewhere ?

    Regards

    Brendan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brendan Moran View Post
    When cleaning a person's PC the first thing I generally install is Ccleaner.
    However if their are multiple users, I appear to have to install it for all users - there is no option to use the software for all profiles.

    Am i missing a setting somewhere ?

    Regards

    Brendan
    Brendan, Welcome to the Lounge. It is always nice to see new posters with new perspectives.

    I do not believe CCleaner provides the option to install to all users at the same time. This is unfortunate since it is a great app that I use a lot. Fortunately the time to install is fairly quick. If you download to a folder (public) then you should be able to see the downloaded exe file on all user accounts to allow one download to install on all users to save on download time. Once loaded CCleaner does have a Check for Updates link as well which is helpful.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brendan Moran View Post
    Am i missing a setting somewhere ?

    Regards

    Brendan
    Brendan, there is a portable version http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
    CCleaner puts a shortcut into the desktop of whoever installs it.

    I never use that - I move it from my private desktop to the "All Users" desktop.

    N.B. I also now prefer the Portable version

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    StoneyCreek, TN
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I put the portable version in a folder in the root, as in C: \mytools so I can run whatever portable app I want to from any user account without having to click through so many folders to find it.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGadgetFixer View Post
    I put the portable version in a folder in the root, as in C: \mytools so I can run whatever portable app I want to from any user account without having to click through so many folders to find it.
    Why not put it on a partition if you have one, then put a shortcut on the desktop for all users ?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    StoneyCreek, TN
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If I do that, then I would have to update all the shortcuts with the new version name every time there is an updated version. Some people think that having it on the desktop makes it too easy for their kids to uninstall stuff and otherwise mess things up with it. They also don't want me to set up limited accounts for the kids or use steady state either. I can't understand some people, but it's their computer and their money.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGadgetFixer View Post
    If I do that, then I would have to update all the shortcuts with the new version name every time there is an updated version. Some people think that having it on the desktop makes it too easy for their kids to uninstall stuff and otherwise mess things up with it. They also don't want me to set up limited accounts for the kids or use steady state either. I can't understand some people, but it's their computer and their money.
    You could put it on a USB hdd or just leave it on you PC and run it from there without a shortcut.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGadgetFixer View Post
    If I do that, then I would have to update all the shortcuts with the new version name every time there is an updated version.
    I disagree.
    The download file has a name that varies with the version,
    but the unzipped executable is always named CCleaner.exe, and I have never changed a link when I have updated the version.

    NB All my portable applications are on partition H:\ which is accessible to both XP and Windows 7 on my dual boot machine.

    That is 2 GB in one partition instead of 2 GB in each of the System partitions
    That is 2 GB I do not have to download again should a Windows Patch Tuesday self destruct and take out everything in C:\

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    If you are primarily using CC Cleaner to clean out temp files and cache files for all users then I would recommend this as a possible alternative.

    TFC - Temporary File Cleaner by oldtimer.

    http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/files...r-by-oldtimer/

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Long island, NY
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    CCleaner Network Edition available

    Quotes from Piriform site - CCleaner Network Edition, is a scalable network version of CCleaner that allows remote deployment and management.
    • Small and large network support.
    • Simple one-click deployment onto clients.
    • Analyze single machines, workgroups or the entire network.
    • Manage cleaning rules and settings from one place.
    • Highly secure client and encrypted communications.

      http://www.piriform.com/business/ccl...etwork-edition

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •