Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a Win7 home premium laptop wirelessly networked with a wired XP Pro SP3 desktop computer. Achieving this wasn't easy and I would be happy to pass on the changes I had to make to get this arrangement working properly with anyone interested. I am left with one irritating minor problem. When the XP Pro desktop PC is rebooted, I have to insert a userid and a password in a popup box in order to see the shared files on the laptop. When the laptop is rebooted there is no similar request and I am immediately able to access the desktop PC.

    How do I remove the network password protection that has been placed on gaining access from the desktop to the laptop?

    Someone else tried to assist me when I was struggling to network the two machines and I do not recall how the password protection was applied and so am not sure how to remove it.

    Steve

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Steve, Welcome to the Lounge.

    How to Geek does show a method that may work for what you need.

    Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for replying, Ted.

    I have seen the webpage you recommend before in my battle getting XP Pro and Win7 to network. Happily behind me now. Password Protection is already turned off on my Win7 laptop. Yet, when I am on my XP Pro desktop PC, I have to enter the userid and password to be able to 'see' the laptop. I take it I am right in thinking that I need to find somewhere on my Win7 laptop where these values have been stuffed? Any ideas where to look?

    Steve

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This may be a problem with Win 7 seeing XP as less secure and thus requiring a password. I know of no way to stop this action as Win 7 is considered more secure than XP. It may be a built in security action that someone much smarter than me would have to solve. Unfortunately all my PCs are now Win 7 (or fortunately from my point of view) so I can not test or attempt to find this setting. Sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, Ted. Yes, I had wondered if this was something to do with the undoubted networking 'mismatch' between Win7 and XP Pro. I am pleased to have got the two machines talking to each other with no irritations except for this minor one. I have been reluctant to experiment just in case I mess up what is now a decent arrangement, allowing me to duplicate emails, etc. Even printer sharing works fine. If I do pluck up the nerve to dig deeper and to find a solution, I will post the information here.

    Steve

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Steve, if you Try This installed on both PC's it will solve all in one go.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oddly enough, I have already tried Teamviewer out when someone with more knowledge than I living in Switzerland tried to help me with my networking problem. It worked superbly well, allowing us to communicate via Notepad messages whilst he changed a few settings on my machine. However; it never occurred to me to install Teamviewer on BOTH of my machines as a simple solution to permit each machine to access the other. Thanks for the idea.

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •