Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi , first time here.
    Would really appreciate some simple advice. Having problems with Laptop.
    After logging on I get error dialog box " List index out of bounds (0) " on my desktop.
    Then an error dialog box " File Not Found " popping up every 20-30 secs. Also, some
    of my programs getting disabled , such as Firefox , Nero , Thunderbird .........
    This started occurring after I uninstalled a wallpaper changer called Bionix.
    I have scanned any virus etc. Everything clean. Tried a System Restore. Would not
    restore to selected restore points. Did an MBRCheck.
    " Found non-standard or infected MBR." Went through the option to ' restore the MBR
    of a physical disk with a standard boot code.' Performed MBRCheck again.
    " Found non-standard or infected MBR " again.

    Does this mean a reformat ?
    Many thanks for any advice.

    Nick

    Laptop : Pryon MSI
    Win XP Pro version 2002 SP3
    Intel Core( TM ) 2 Duo T8100 @ 2.1GHz, 2094 MHz
    3 GB Ram

    Running : AVG 8.5
    Sygate firewall
    CCleaner
    Malwarebytes' Anti-malware
    Spywareblaster
    SuperAntiSpyware

    Browsers : Firefox , Google Chrome , Opera , IE

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi NickF Welcome to The Lounge.

    Did you attempt the MBR repair using your installation CD/DVD ?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Roderunner for your reply.

    I just ran the MBRCheck.exe and went from there.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi NickF,

    Evidently MBRCheck.exe is a third party utility. As Roderunner recommended, boot from your XP installation CD and allow it to initialize. When it comes to a choice to do a Repair, choose to run the Recovery Console. When in the Recovery Console, type in the command fixboot , and press Enter. Then type in fixmbr, and press Enter. These commands should get you back up and running.

    If your XP installation disk is Service Pack 2 and not Service Pack 3, you will need to slipstream XP with SP3. Check Paul Thurrott's guide on slipstreaming XP SP3 here.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Hi NickF,

    Evidently MBRCheck.exe is a third party utility. As Roderunner recommended, boot from your XP installation CD and allow it to initialize. When it comes to a choice to do a Repair, choose to run the Recovery Console. When in the Recovery Console, type in the command fixboot , and press Enter. Then type in fixmbr, and press Enter. These commands should get you back up and running.

    If your XP installation disk is Service Pack 2 and not Service Pack 3, you will need to slipstream XP with SP3. Check Paul Thurrott's guide on slipstreaming XP SP3 here.
    Thanks for adding to my post. I have done it on Vista & W7 but never on XP.
    P.S. Not notified by mail as usual.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Gerald & Roderunner for your help.
    Very much appreciated.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Thanks for adding to my post. I have done it on Vista & W7 but never on XP.
    P.S. Not notified by mail as usual.
    Your welcome, Roderunner, glad to be of assistance.

    Sometimes I do not get notifications either.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Hi NickF,

    Evidently MBRCheck.exe is a third party utility. As Roderunner recommended, boot from your XP installation CD and allow it to initialize. When it comes to a choice to do a Repair, choose to run the Recovery Console. When in the Recovery Console, type in the command fixboot , and press Enter. Then type in fixmbr, and press Enter. These commands should get you back up and running.

    If your XP installation disk is Service Pack 2 and not Service Pack 3, you will need to slipstream XP with SP3. Check Paul Thurrott's guide on slipstreaming XP SP3 here.
    Needed to slipstream XP with SP3.
    When I boot my XP installation DVD there is no choice to do a Repair.
    There is no Recovery Console. Am I missing something ?

    Thanks for any advice.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NickF View Post
    Needed to slipstream XP with SP3.
    When I boot my XP installation DVD there is no choice to do a Repair.
    There is no Recovery Console. Am I missing something ?

    Thanks for any advice.
    Hi Nick,

    If you have successfully slipstreamed SP3 to XP and now have an XP Pro SP3 installation disk, then follow directions in this MS Knowledge Base article on how to start Recovery Console. There are two ways to go. You can either install RC so it appears in a menu when you start your PC. That way you can boot either to XP or to the Recovery Console. Most users find booting to the CD/DVD to be sufficient. Instructions for booting from your CD/DVD are located further down the page after instructions to install RC.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Hi Nick,

    If you have successfully slipstreamed SP3 to XP and now have an XP Pro SP3 installation disk, then follow directions in this MS Knowledge Base article on how to start Recovery Console. There are two ways to go. You can either install RC so it appears in a menu when you start your PC. That way you can boot either to XP or to the Recovery Console. Most users find booting to the CD/DVD to be sufficient. Instructions for booting from your CD/DVD are located further down the page after instructions to install RC.
    Hi Gerald

    Followed your instructions and went to Recovery Console.
    Performed the command fixboot. New boot sector successfully written.
    When I went to fixmbr I got a Caution stating :

    This computer appears to have a non-standard or invalid master boot record.
    FIXMBR may damage your partitions tables if you proceed.
    This could cause all the partitions on the current hard disk to become inaccessible.
    If you are not having problems accessing your drive , do not continue.
    Are you sure you want to write a new MBR ?

    Do I go ahead ?

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Nick,

    I've seen this message on several occasions, usually when I have dual booted a Linux distro with Windows. Linux places the GRUB menu in the MBR. But on those occasions, I knew what made the MBR non-standard.

    Have you been able to run full scans with your AV and anti-malware apps? If you are able to do so, and if you can go online, check these online scanners for additional checks to rule out infection as the culprit.

    Also, check out Dr.Webb CureIT here on Majorgeeks.com.

    Check out this link to a WS Lounge thread. (the thread was created on 9/3/10 in the XP forum and is titled "What is usakecikot?" - I am having difficulty with the link responding.) Post #3 lists more links to excellent online scanners. See if any malware is revealed before allowing a rewrite of the MBR.

    What concerns me in your issue, is that if the MBR is corrupt, you should not be able to start Windows. That is what makes me suspect malware.

    You might get in touch with Pyron MSI support to find out if they provided a non-standard MBR on your machine, and see if they can advise you on how to proceed. HP has been known to provide a non-standard MBR before.

    If you cannot currently run online scanners or complete scans with your own apps, and you do not have an image backup of your XP installation, and Pyron MSI is a dead end, then download and build the Ultimate Boot CD for Windows here. Complete instructions are on the web site. Just use your slipstreamed XP SP3 cd/dvd. This will allow you to run some AV and malware scans by booting the UBCD. It is a great tool for XP users. I have used it several times in the past, and I believe you can run the fixmbr from it as well.

    Alternatively, you could allow fixmbr to do its thing. It may be okay, but there are no guarantees. Personally, I would try the UBCD first if you cannot go online or run your malware tools.

    Hope this helps.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Nick,

    I've seen this message on several occasions, usually when I have dual booted a Linux distro with Windows. Linux places the GRUB menu in the MBR. But on those occasions, I knew what made the MBR non-standard.

    Have you been able to run full scans with your AV and anti-malware apps? If you are able to do so, and if you can go online, check these online scanners for additional checks to rule out infection as the culprit.

    Also, check out Dr.Webb CureIT here on Majorgeeks.com.

    Check out this link to a WS Lounge thread. (the thread was created on 9/3/10 in the XP forum and is titled "What is usakecikot?" - I am having difficulty with the link responding.) Post #3 lists more links to excellent online scanners. See if any malware is revealed before allowing a rewrite of the MBR.

    What concerns me in your issue, is that if the MBR is corrupt, you should not be able to start Windows. That is what makes me suspect malware.

    You might get in touch with Pyron MSI support to find out if they provided a non-standard MBR on your machine, and see if they can advise you on how to proceed. HP has been known to provide a non-standard MBR before.

    If you cannot currently run online scanners or complete scans with your own apps, and you do not have an image backup of your XP installation, and Pyron MSI is a dead end, then download and build the Ultimate Boot CD for Windows here. Complete instructions are on the web site. Just use your slipstreamed XP SP3 cd/dvd. This will allow you to run some AV and malware scans by booting the UBCD. It is a great tool for XP users. I have used it several times in the past, and I believe you can run the fixmbr from it as well.

    Alternatively, you could allow fixmbr to do its thing. It may be okay, but there are no guarantees. Personally, I would try the UBCD first if you cannot go online or run your malware tools.

    Hope this helps.
    Hi Gerald

    Have tried all the suggestions above but still with same problem.
    Guess a reformat is in store !

    Thanks for all your help and all the tips.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •