Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BCD is corrupt

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After a recent power supply failure, I cannot reboot my Windows 7 PC - eventually I get to a screen advising that my BCD is corrupt.
    I am advised that the only way forward is a new clean install of the operating system (after backing up the data - via Ubuntu on disk).
    Can anyone offer a less tedious way forward, and in case it happens again, a better recovery solution?

    It's particularly annoying that in this case, the power failure was cause by a rogue PSU :-(.

    Vaughan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would try to do a repair install. Insert the installation disk and choose repair installation. This may fix the boot directory for you. Worth a try before doing a complete reinstall.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried the repair instal, but it always leads me to the corrupt BCD display.

    Vaughan

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Vaughan Mitchell View Post
    I tried the repair instal, but it always leads me to the corrupt BCD display.

    Vaughan
    Try this method to repair the Bcd.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The shop tell me that they went down that road with no benefit!

    On Friday they used a Ubuntu disk to hoover up / back up all the user data.

    Today they were about to wipe and install a clean Win7 o/s - when it booted OK - they can't explain it either, but they didn't charge so I guess it's my lucky day.

    Thanks for your responses,

    Vaughan

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Vaughan Mitchell View Post
    The shop tell me that they went down that road with no benefit!

    On Friday they used a Ubuntu disk to hoover up / back up all the user data.

    Today they were about to wipe and install a clean Win7 o/s - when it booted OK - they can't explain it either, but they didn't charge so I guess it's my lucky day.

    Thanks for your responses,

    Vaughan
    what process did you do sir? for the benefits of others. thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •