Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi Folks

I need to do a clean install of my Vista, What I need to know is will my computer connect to the internet via my wireless? I will need to get updates and such as I am installing (or shortly after) -- Will I need to reconfigure or reconnect to the router?

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't know whether I fully understand this question but my take on it is that you would do a clean install, then configure your network connection to connect to your wireless router and then do your updates

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thank you Paul,

I wasn't sure if my computer would automaticaly detect the router or not, from what you say -- it will not. I'm not quite sure how to re-establish a connection if my computer dosn't automaticaly see it. I am just learning, and I'm not familure with the terms, and jargon.
    Evelyn

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    It will depend on how you do this "clean install". If you use the recovery partition or recovery disc the wireless should be reinstalled like the day you got the computer. It should connect to an unsecured router, otherwise all you should have to do is insert the password to connect to a secured router.

If you are using a Vista disc out of the box for the "clean install" you may need to install the wireless drivers. In either case the router settings should not make any difference.

JB

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Its best to have all the drivers you will need for devices such as the wireless interface. If you are installing from a recovery partition or discs and the wireless was original then those drivers will be included in the install. If this is an install from a retail or OEM disc or the wireless is an addon then chances are you will need the drivers beforehand (burn them to CD), and its critical to have those because its not like one can use that computer to go online and get them until the wireless is working.