Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We just upgraded from 97 to 03. Some of my subforms are not longer visible, but some are. Can't figure out what is wrong. Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks so much
    Cathy

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    I'm afraid we are going to need more information in order to be able to help you much. The basic mechanism for linking subforms to main forms hasn't changed from 97 to 2003, but things like Visual Basic for Applications have changed. Check and see if there is some VBA running on events for the subform control on the main form, or for events running on Load or Open on the subforms themselves. But I suspect you may need to upload a sanitized version of your database if that doesn't lead you to the cause of what you are seeing. I should also ask whether it's a case of the subform actually not appearing, or if it is a case of no data showing up?
    Wendell

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    They are not visible in form view, but everything looks OK in design view

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The subforms are on tabs if that makes a difference

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There are events

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Do the events include code that sets the visibility of the forms?

    A common catch-all explanation for many 2007 problems, is that code does not execute unless the db is in a Trusted Location.

    To create a Trusted Location, go to Office...Access Options..Trust Center..Trust Center Settings..Trusted Locations..Add New Location
    Regards
    John



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Have you checked the visible property for the subform control? Also, does the code behind the main form have any events that execute a line something like:
    Code:
    Me.subform1.visible = False
    If not, then I think you may need to create a sanitized version so we can test it. Also can you confirm that you are trying to use Access 2003, and not 2007?
    Wendell

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using Access 2003

    What I have is a form with tabs on it with subforms on some of the tabs. This was designed in 97. In 03 I am seeing some of the tabs correctly and some of them are not showing the subforms. I have checked and rechecked and can't figure out what I may be doing wrong.
    Thanks

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    At this point the only suggestion I can make is to create a sanitized (and small) version of your database and upload it so we can tinker with it and try to help you.
    Wendell

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Do the offending sub-forms have any calculations or conditional formatting in them?

    What Sevice Packs (if any) do you have installed for A2K3?
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nothing conditional. I am not sure about the service packs.

    When there are records in the subform the form is visible, the problem is when there are no records in the child subform you don't even see the parent form for data input. The parent form is on a tab. I know it must be something little but I can't seem to find it. It worked perfectly in 97 for many years.

    Cathy

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I forgot to mention they just moved the tables to a SQL back end. Maybe it is something in SQL??

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    That in and of itself shouldn't cause problems - UNLESS they failed to put primary keys on the tables in SQL Server. If a recordset is not updateable (i.e. no primary key) then the form won't have a place to enter new records, and thus appear to be missing. Check the design of the tables and see if you have a primary key - you will get a message that you can't change the design of a linked table, but that's OK, you can still view the design.
    Wendell

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The two tables involved do not have PK set. I am going to have the SQL guys add one. That makes sense to me. I hope it is the solution!! This is our first time taking an existing access database and moving the back end to SQL. and the front end to Access 03. The database has been in 97 for over 10 years.

    I appreciate the help, will let you know.

    Knoll

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    I expect that will resolve your problem - Access 97 allowed you to do some things that were that source of trouble - and it is nearly 14 years old. For that matter Access 2003 is nearly 8 years old.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •