Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I am running Windows 7 Professional on a 64-bit notebook. I tried to save a Word 2010 document to an external hard drive and I got the message that I did not have Administrative permission. I am the only person using the notebook, so I am the Administrator. How can I correct this problem? (Note: Before I started getting this Administrator permission message yesterday, I had been storing items on the external drive with no difficulties).
    Thank you.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Moon1130, try saving to desktop then move to Ext HDD. If you drag the file while holding the 'right mouse button' into your Ext HDD once button is released select from options that will appear.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,507
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 610 Times in 546 Posts
    Your account is not the Administrator unless you logged on using the Administrator account. You may be a member of the administrative group but that does mean you have the same privileges as the builtin Administrator account. This is a change from XP.

    Have you used the external drive on a different system since you last used it on the notebook?

    Joe

  5. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Roadrunner, I did send it to the Desktop and your suggestion worked. Thank you very much.

    JoeP, I did use the external harddrive on another computer. I started having this problem when I reconnected it to the notebook.

    How can I get around this so that I won't have to send something first to the Desktop or Library before saving it to the externalo drive? If it is to sign on as Administrator, how do I do that?:

    Thank you Roadrunner and JoeP for your responses.

    Moon

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,507
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 610 Times in 546 Posts
    In Windows Explorer right click on the root of the external drive, select Properties, click on the Security tab, click on the Advanced button at the bottom right, click on the owner tab, clcik the Edit button, select your account, click the checkbox on "Replace owner on subcontainers and objects", then OK your way out.

    Joe

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    How can I get around this so that I won't have to send something first to the Desktop or Library before saving it to the externalo drive? If it is to sign on as Administrator, how do I do that?:
    Moon,
    Hello... I think this is what you want http://unlockforus.blogspot.com/2008/11/download.html There is a new version now , i still use the old one and it works fine Vista, Windows 7 \32...., 7\64 Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    moon1130, If you have not already done so, as suggested by Fred & Joe try these.
    Is your user name on both PC's exactly the same. ?
    -
    1 open any file in your ext hdd and change any character then try to save it.
    2 If it fails, go to device manager and uninstall it.
    3 Reboot and try 1 again.
    -
    If all my ideas! fail, by all means try Fred & Joe's method. I have never had to do as they suggested.

    NO derision or insult in any means to Fred & Joe.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  9. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I tried Joe's susggestion first. I am still not able to save to the external hard drive. I am now getting the following message when I try to save to the hard drive: "A required privilege is not held by client."

  10. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Fred,

    I tried your link but I get the message that "Internet Explorer cannot display this link." I don't know what the problem is.

    Moon

  11. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    Fred,

    I tried your link but I get the message that "Internet Explorer cannot display this link." I don't know what the problem is.

    Moon
    Moon,
    Hello... I have tried the link both with "FireFox" and "IE" on my windows "7" machine, and they both will take me to the "Web site".... As i use "FireFox" as my default browser i have no idea why "IE" chokes trying to open the link on your machine ? Maybe your security? Regards Fred

    PS: try doing a search for "WinBubble" you may be able to get to the link that way.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Fred's link works for me as well using IE 9 (beta)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,507
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 610 Times in 546 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    I tried Joe's susggestion first. I am still not able to save to the external hard drive. I am now getting the following message when I try to save to the hard drive: "A required privilege is not held by client."
    Even though your user is the owner you still need the appropriate permissions. Make sure that your account has the permissions set at the highest level and are at least inherited for the whole drive.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •