Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    When I start my computer, I always get the message:

    Do You want to allow the following program to make changes to your computer...

    I have to say YES every time in order to run zlclient and therefore have ZA running.

    How can I stop this message and just have ZA run at the start?

    (I am using W7 -- the problem just started about 3 weeks ago)

    I am not sure if this is a ZA setting (free version) or a W-7 one

    Mel

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    melvin, if you know what is being asked to be allowed to run, tick the 'remember etc. ' box then allow. ZA will soon settle down.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    There is no such check box

    Mel

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by melvin billik View Post
    There is no such check box

    Mel
    It only appears when a program needs permission.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Roderunner:

    I am not following you. My only choices are YES and NO.

    If I say YES, then ZA loads. If I say NO then ZA does not load.

    I want ZA to load and I don't want to have to respond to this annoyance at every startup.

    Again, I see no option to remember this setting.

    I am running W7

    Mel

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Mel, my humble apologies, I misread your original post. Firstly check these settings.

    [attachment=90193:z.JPG]

    If they are Ok and it still wont run @ start-up, right click tray icon and shut it down, go to start click on ZA and select it's own uninstaller, after a reboot, look in C: Program Files + Data to unsure there are no leftover files. If you still have the .EXE file to install ZA or have to get another copy to re install it. First right click the .EXE and unblock it, then r/c again and select 'Run as Administrator'
    When installed, you must manually shut-down Windows Firewall. You could check this first before uninstalling.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    With a third party firewall that is properly designed to be compatible with Windows 7 you do NOT want to shut down the Windows firewall. The Windows firewall controls more functions that just a firewall. When a third party firewall is installed. if it is properly setup to operate with Windows 7. it will communicate which functions it will take over from the Windows firewall. Those Windows firewall components will be disabled but the rest will remain funtional.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    With a third party firewall that is properly designed to be compatible with Windows 7 you do NOT want to shut down the Windows firewall. The Windows firewall controls more functions that just a firewall. When a third party firewall is installed. if it is properly setup to operate with Windows 7. it will communicate which functions it will take over from the Windows firewall. Those Windows firewall components will be disabled but the rest will remain funtional.

    Joe
    [attachment=90197:j.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    [attachment=90197:j.JPG]
    This has been discussed before. See this post - http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...dpost&p=839339.

    YOU, the user, should not disable the Windows firewall.

    Here's the section from the Technet link in the other post:
    "Coexistence with third-party firewalls
    Windows Firewall with Advanced Security consists of a set of services that provide much more than the traditional firewall. IPsec connection security rules, network service hardening, boot time filters, firewall filters, and stealth filters are all services provided by Windows Firewall with Advanced Security in Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2. Because multiple firewall programs can be problematic due to conflicts, if you install a third-party firewall program, you need to turn off the Windows Firewall. In previous versions of Windows, turning off the firewall meant also disabling all of the related services. If the third-party program does not provide all of the same functionality, then you might be unintentionally exposing your computer to threats for which you no longer have protection. In Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7, Windows Firewall with Advanced Security enables more specific disabling of its features through published application program interface (API) calls. When a third-party firewall program is installed, the installer can disable only those portions of Windows Firewall with Advanced Security that conflict with the services that are provided by the third-party program. Other Windows Firewall with Advanced Security services are left enabled, and continue to help protect your computer."



    Joe


    Joe

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Joe, I looked to see if ZA free is compatible with W7. Its not listed. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/com...irewall&page=2
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Joe, I looked to see if ZA free is compatible with W7. Its not listed. http://www.microsoft...firewall&page=2
    Did you check with ZA?

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Did you check with ZA?

    Joe
    Joe, its working on my Vista PC. Original poster wants it on a W7 PC
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Joe, its working on my Vista PC. Original poster wants it on a W7 PC
    I understand that. I meant did you check at the ZoneAlarm web site to see what they say? According to Best Free Firewall Software for Download: Personal Firewall by ZoneAlarm it is Windows 7 compatible. If they use the Windows 7 logo that means it has to have passed Microsoft tests. SeeFAQ on Windows 7 Compatibility Center: Hardware Devices & Software Programs: Drivers, Updates, Downloads for more details.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Joe, I have investigated installing ZA on a W7 OS. It is compatible but gives no indication as to disabling Windows FW. All I know is that when it was installed W FW was not disabled automatically. I did disable W FW on Vista laptop.
    -
    My desktop PC is W7 Home Prem. I'm using Agnitum's Outpost Pro FW version 7 0 3 and it disables W FW on installation.
    -
    As I'm using a router with NAT my PC's only need one FW. IMHO
    -
    This debate will probably endure as the 'Chicken & Egg' theory.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Folks, I am still having the problem (see my original post).
    I am thinking of just discarding it and then reinstalling it.

    However, I am afraid of having difficulty removing ZA.

    Can I just go to the W7 add/delete programs and do it that way?

    (I would first d/l the latest ZA set-up program and run it immediately after deleting ZA so as to minimize any time being without a Firewall).

    Still, I would think there would be some simple fix/setting to eliminate the nag pop-up that occurs whenever I boot up.

    I assume it is the ZLCLIENT that is causing the problem?

    Mel

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •