3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have been running Win XP SP3 on my desktop machine for 3 years without any errors at all. I decided to install a larger HDD and do a new install of Win XP SP2, then the SP3 CD. Install keeps crashing at various stages with a Blue Screen message about Stop Error '0X0000009c (30 more characters). I can restart in safe mode then normal mode, but even when Windows actuallly starts, it fails soon after with the same stop error. I have disconnected all network conections, printers etc during the install and nothing except screen, tower, mouse and keyboard were in place. the Microsoft site suggests sending them an error message, but as the machine is dead at that stage, that's not possible. Apart from junking a perfectly good machine, I am totally stuck, and any suggestons would be greatly appreciated!
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

Thanks
    You may want to start by running, in boot mode preferably, the diagnostic tool of the drive's manufacturer.
    Recieving a bad drive from time to time can happen, and the quicker you can figure it out, the sooner you can effect an RMA, if possible.
    You can also put your old one back in, if you havn't reformated it, and run diagnostics while the new one is in a secondary configuration.
    Are they SATA or IDE drives?
    What is the make and model of the new drive?
    Can you provide more information on the error message?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks