Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello all,
    Just a "heads up" Macrium Reflect http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp is out with a new version 4.2.2952.0 9 (old 4.2.2866) also will update when you run the old version (about 7MBs) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Thanks
    Hi Fred and Group.

I have been backing up my HD for about thirty years, and setting up backup schemes for persons, Banks, Corporations, and if anyone knows the real benefit of having a true image of their C: drive 'in the can' (as they say in Hollywood), it's me.

So to keep up with the industry, so to speak, I test every new program that comes down the pike.
    Details escape me, but when I tested Macrium Reflect I found something that it wouldn't do, that immediately put it in the bit bucket.
    One thing I look for, with any backup program, is that it will make a full featured CD that will boot the system and perform all the necessary functions of a Backup and Restore program.

By the way, Acronis True Image does fill the bill. The first time I tried it, booting from the recovery CD, it backed up and then restored a Vista HD.
    You can get ATI, FREE, from Seagate or Maxtor, and maybe from other sources.
    You should never need to BUY it.

I have Ghost 11.5 on a bootable Flash Drive and CD and it will (reliably) backup and restore any Microsoft OS from DOS to Windows 7, Ultimate 64.
    I equate changing backup programs to changing planes......at 30,000 feet.

With my Ghost 11.5, I can restore any backup I've made for the past umpteen years. And with Ghost Explorer 11.5, I can extract any file or folder from any of those old backups.

Without your backup/restore program on a bootable media, you're lost in case of a HD crash.

Cheers Mates!
    Doc
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Thanks
    Hi Dr. Who,