Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
    This was the last week you could get a Dell preinstalled with Win XP. Too bad, because Win 7 is probably still a service pack or two away from actually being useful in a workplace network environment or on a consultant's laptop. That said:

    Please, please, please...

    Can anyone tell me how I can get the "Show Entire Network" functionality that was a standard function on Win XP in my copy of Win 7 Pro? I know this was originally screwed up in Vista and it seems to have carried over into Win 7. In the real world, work computers can often exist on networks composed of multiple domains and/or workgroups. Win 7's network view, even with discovery turned on, is so poorly implemented it is simply unusable.

    I'd like to open up a window that investigates the network and presents workgroups and/or domains first, allowing me to pick one. Then, and only then, would it go out and find the computers on that one workgroup/domain. In some of the environments I work in there are hundreds of devices spread out amongst dozens of domains/workgroups. Win 7 has proven totally useless in these environments, forcing me to locate computers by their IP addresses. And don't get me started on Win 7's terrible search system (that's a post for another time).

    So - anybody have any help to offer. Googling this has led to many dead ends and useless information.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    I found this bit of information on Bing You can read it here;My link Every one has their own favorite search web site. I've found to get better result's with the above.Hope this helps alittle.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The good news, I've done it once. The bad news, I have no idea how. It just happened one day I was looking at the network on a Win7 system and I was totally caught off guard when it displayed the workgroups. If I ever figure it out I'll be sure to post....but don't hold your breath!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron Tarbox View Post
    The good news, I've done it once. The bad news, I have no idea how. It just happened one day I was looking at the network on a Win7 system and I was totally caught off guard when it displayed the workgroups. If I ever figure it out I'll be sure to post....but don't hold your breath!
    Open Network Sharing Center, upper right of window, see full map. See if this works.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, I was fiddlin' one day and my two workgroups were displayed instead of all the networked computers themselves, so it stepped back one level for whatever reason. The map is too generic again, at least on mine....here's a switch, there's a switch, this computer's hooked to that one and so on and some NAS and others left behind that it can't map for some reason. On mine its even less useful than just displaying the networked computers since I'm not overwhelmed with then and know each by name and where they are.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron Tarbox View Post
    The good news, I've done it once. The bad news, I have no idea how. It just happened one day I was looking at the network on a Win7 system and I was totally caught off guard when it displayed the workgroups. If I ever figure it out I'll be sure to post....but don't hold your breath!
    Sure would love to know how you did it! Any possible hints.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •