Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Adobe has issued a notice that there is an update to its free reader - Adobe Reader 9.

    Be warned, though, that with no option, Adobe will also install something called McAfee Security Scan. You will not get a screen advising you that this will be installed and allowing you to unselect it. This is all too typical of Adobe, pushing updates and forcing the use of its download manager.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Grant Wilkinson View Post
    Be warned, though, that with no option, Adobe will also install something called McAfee Security Scan. You will not get a screen advising you that this will be installed and allowing you to unselect it.
    Where does it install, exactly?

    I used Help > Check for Updates from within Adobe Reader to update, and I can't see that any McAfee products have been added to my system. I don't see anything new on the desktop, Start > Programs, Add/Remove Programs, or obvious places in the IE UI.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Where does it install, exactly?

    I used Help > Check for Updates from within Adobe Reader to update, and I can't see that any McAfee products have been added to my system. I don't see anything new on the desktop, Start > Programs, Add/Remove Programs, or obvious places in the IE UI.
    I installed the update as well, and I can find absolutely no evidence of anything related to McAfee on my system.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    The web site includes the McAfee download, but you can un-tick the box and not download it.
    http://get.adobe.com/uk/reader/?promoid=BUIGO

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Grant Wilkinson View Post
    Adobe has issued a notice that there is an update to its free reader - Adobe Reader 9.

    Be warned, though, that with no option, Adobe will also install something called McAfee Security Scan. You will not get a screen advising you that this will be installed and allowing you to unselect it. This is all too typical of Adobe, pushing updates and forcing the use of its download manager.
    Adobe Updater popped up and offered me the update to 9.4.0. It installed and did not install any McAfee harmware. Are you sure you followed the instructions correctly? Did you download it direct from Adobe or some third party site?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Ditto: Nothing other than the Adobe update was installed on my system.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 10 Pro (64 bit) - (UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2015 Premium, NIS 2016, VMWare Workstation12 Pro, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC NY
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I got the McAfee earlier with something else and my question is: how do I get rid of the scan? I keep cancelling it when it pops up.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I went to the Adobe.com site to get the download. I did not reply to the updater message. I just went there again, and found where I made my mistake. After clicking download twice, the screen that comes up for the final download click has a ticked box on the right had side saying to download and install McAfee scan at the same time. I didn't see that the first time.

    I'm sorry for the confusion.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Thaks for posting back. Glad you found out what happened.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 10 Pro (64 bit) - (UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2015 Premium, NIS 2016, VMWare Workstation12 Pro, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cornwall UK
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
    Hi all,

    I got exactly the same McAfee scanner (via the Adobe Updater) when I installed Adobe Flash Player for Firefox on someone’s machine the other day – and I made a point of not ticking any boxes because I’d spotted the blurb regarding the additional scanner download. In my opinion, the underhanded way Adobe and McAfee are forcing this scanner on the unsuspecting deserves that they both be lumped together with all other dubious download sites. You can easily uninstall the McAfee scanner from Control Panel Programs but that’s not the point.

    Adobe's download procedures have always been unnecessarily complicated and the best Adobe Reader update you will ever get is to replace it with Foxit Reader. That’s one of the first things I do when cleaning up any system I get in for service – The relatively tiny Foxit app puts Adobe to shame for features and speed, and pdf is Adobe’s own format too!

    Cheers,

    Chris
    Remember rule #1: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

    Industrial electrical engineer, running a system building/repair business in Cornwall UK, for the last 15 years.

    Built my first computer in 1978 - in the days when you had to hand-solder in all the components
    and 16k RAM was considered extravagant!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sanda aronson View Post
    I got the McAfee earlier with something else and my question is: how do I get rid of the scan? I keep cancelling it when it pops up.
    Once installed, it should be independent of Adobe Reader. Check the Add/Remove Program control panel for a McAfee entry. Or there might be an uninstall choice in its program group on the Start > [All] Programs menu.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, PA, USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yup, it happened to me too! Got the McAfee downloaded and installed, didn't catch the check mark (which I always do). Noticed what was happening during the install process. I went to program uninstall and removed it two minutes later. It is getting to be pretty disgusting downloading updates or programs from big companies - (toolbar extras are a big grip with me). I'll bet most of the downloaders have no use for these add-ons.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    albany, ny
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here's another gripe about updating the Adobe Reader. On a system with v9.1 when you check for updates you first get v9.2, then have to AGAIN check for updates to get updated to the latest v9.4.

    I recently blogged about seven other reasons to use an alternate PDF viewing program.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Toronto ON
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Foxit is free, small, and works much better for me than Adobe, perhaps because it is less complicated. I am encountering the odd website whose pdfs can, to all appearances, only be opened by Adobe, so until I figure this out I still have to keep Adobe on my machine, But Foxit is the default.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The update installed properly for me as well. Be advised however that this only installed on my 32 Bit version of IE 9 beta. It will not, did not install on my 64 Bit version of IE 9 beta. If you need to open a .pdf document in IE using Acrobat Reader, you must be using your 32 Bit browser for now.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •