Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There is a new option in Excel 2010 pivot tables which allows item labels to be repeated in columns. Is there a way to do this in Excel 2007?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    Not with a live pivot table, no. You have to copy and Paste special-values, then fill in the gaps.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Rory, I hadn't found a way to do it, but thought I would just throw it out there in case I was missing something. Thanks for your time.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Would this link help at all?
    Spreadsheets: Problems with Pivot Table Labels

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Tim, unfortunately I still have Excel 2007 and the new Repeat Item Label function is Excel 2010.
    I overcome the no Repeat Label problem by adding an ID column of line numbers to my data and then making that the left-most label in my pivot. Just thought I'd see if anyone had a less time-consuming way of overcoming this lack of feature in Excel 2007.
    Thanks again.
    Meleia

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bit old, but I just ran into this problem because my office still has Office 2003. What rory said, but here's my formula to help fill in the gaps.

    1) Create a new column to the left of the one you want to fill in - let's call this column A, and the original one B
    2) Copy B1 into A1
    3) A2 = if(B2="",A1,B2)
    4) Fill Down

    So, if column B has a value, it copies it into A, else it copies the entry above the current cell in A - that's why we primed it with step 2.

    Example.png

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    You can also:
    -Select the row fields
    -Press f5
    -Choose Special... then blanks
    -type = then press the up arrow then press Ctrl+Enter.
    -Finally copy and paste special - values if required.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •