Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: IE 8 Error

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I've gotten this error the last four times I've closed IExpllorer.

    is there a reason, or a way to fix this error?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Chuck, install 'DirectX' on your PC. http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    What have you changed recently?

    Have you installed any addons?

    Have you tried running IE with addons disabled?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    What have you changed recently?

    Have you installed any addons?

    Have you tried running IE with addons disabled?

    Joe
    Joe, outside if installing IE 9 and then uninstalling, I have done *nothing* -- honest !
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried running IE with addons disabled?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Have you tried running IE with addons disabled?

    Joe
    Yeah, I have Joe, but it's intermittent, so I can't really tell...

    I do know that it wasn't happening before IE9, didn't happen during IE9, and then started.

    Incidentally, I use EndNote (Citation software), and it has an add-on for both IE and Firefox. Both worked fine in IE8 and Firefox. Firefox is still fine, bit EN didn't like IE9 -- the plug-in wouldn't install. That's why I went back to IE8.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Have you tried running IE with addons disabled?

    Joe
    Incidentally Joe, the error below is what I got with EndNote's install, and is still unresolved. It installed fine in IE 8, but then would not in IE 9, and now won't in IE 8 either.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    An installation error can really hose a system if it does not roll back properly. Can you do a system restore to a time when you know it was working?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    An installation error can really hose a system if it does not roll back properly. Can you do a system restore to a time when you know it was working?

    Joe
    Joe, I suppose I'll need to...

    Good thing I did a backup 2 days ago!

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •