Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, Lounge, and sorry if this question is redundant, couldn't find it in thread search.

    I have a Vista laptop and would like to upgrade to Windows 7. Will that require that I purchase all new applications such as Office, for example, or will they be compatible?

    Thanks,
    Doug

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You shouldn't have to purchase new applications and or Office.
    One way to check would be to run the Windows 7 upgrade advisor.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello, Douglas.

    No new app to be purchased. I was in the same boat as you, I had Vista and upgraded to Win Se7en, on two machines. Both are quite happy and I too, to run Office 2K.
    Yes, Office 2000, all of it. Not a burp, not one single hiccup. O2K served me well in Windows 2000, Me, XP et all.

    Fear not, you are not treading on thin ice.

    Be good. Jean.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, Jean and Clint for your helpful replies! Will run the advisor and then upgrade to 7 if all ok.
    Thanks again,
    Doug

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Also check out the Windows Compatibility Center.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    I suggest you also think about upgrading to Windows 7 64-bit: Obviously it will depend on whether or not your system can handle 64-bit and whether or not you have old peripherals that MIGHT not have drivers that have updates for Windows 7 64-bit. Virtually all 32-bit programs/software (except some really old/obscure stuff) will work under 64-bit Windows. Certainly it is very likely that anything that worked with Vista will work with 64-bit Windows 7. You will have the advantages of being able to access much more RAM with all the consequent benefits. Give it some thought.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  7. #7
    Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter S View Post
    I suggest you also think about upgrading to Windows 7 64-bit: Obviously it will depend on whether or not your system can handle 64-bit and whether or not you have old peripherals that MIGHT not have drivers that have updates for Windows 7 64-bit. Virtually all 32-bit programs/software (except some really old/obscure stuff) will work under 64-bit Windows. Certainly it is very likely that anything that worked with Vista will work with 64-bit Windows 7. You will have the advantages of being able to access much more RAM with all the consequent benefits. Give it some thought.
    And sites which use Adobe Flash will not work since Adobe has not written the 64 bit version yet. The Microsoft product showing up everywhere is Silverlight. Netflix uses it and it does not work either! To get around these two problems, you can run the 32 bit browser like IE9 or FF or Chrome. The USB drivers for older peripherals are the real problem. Canon will NOT write drivers for the older DSLR cameras, nor will Polar, nor will vision scanners.

    Be sure to check all your ducks before investing in 64 bits.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted, Peter, Wayne, thanks also for your helpful hints. The upgrade to 7 could be a big magilla, but maybe worth it, considering how much I dislike Vista.
    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Just another comment: You COULD go the 64-bit way AND then install "Windows XP Mode" running in a (Windows) virtual machine. This gives all the benefits of 64-bit AND allows you to run any essential "old" software/hardware. Elsewhere in the Lounge you will find all you need to make a decision in this regard. All the best. I am sure you are going to enjoy Windows 7!

    (Edit: Corrected spelling)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Taylor View Post
    And sites which use Adobe Flash will not work since Adobe has not written the 64 bit version yet. The Microsoft product showing up everywhere is Silverlight. Netflix uses it and it does not work either! To get around these two problems, you can run the 32 bit browser like IE9 or FF or Chrome. The USB drivers for older peripherals are the real problem. Canon will NOT write drivers for the older DSLR cameras, nor will Polar, nor will vision scanners.

    Be sure to check all your ducks before investing in 64 bits.
    Windows 7 64 bit comes with both 32 and 64 bit versions of Internet Explorer 8. The 32 bit IE runs Adobe Flash whether Windows 7 is 64 or 32 bit. The big deal, as has been posted by Wayne and Peter S., is to confirm availability of 64 bit drivers for your current hardware, or make sure you upgrade to Windows 7 Pro or higher to use XP Mode (if you opt for Win7 Home Premium you will have to provide your own licensed copy of XP to run in a virtual machine - a fully licensed copy of XP is provided as a free download for Pro or higher Windows 7 editions) for hardware compatibility.

    It is a good thing to check all your ducks!
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •