Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Running Win XP Pro SP2 on an HP d4100e desktop.

    I've got Sonic DVD writing software (Sonic DigitalMedia Plus v7) that came installed on on the computer when I purchased it. I've also got Paint Shop Pro 9, that I installed on the computer some years ago. I've been using both programs with no problem.

    The issue I'm recently experiencing is as follows:

    When I start the Sonic program, I get a dialog window that says "Please wait while Windows configures Jasc Paint Shop Pro 9" This "configuration" window never completes (stays open), and immediately generates an error message that says "Internal Error 2718. {F843C6A3-224D-4615-94F8-3C461BD9AEA0}" (these are both Paint Shop Pro messages). A screen shot of the messages is attached (I hope).
    Meanwhile, the Sonic application opens properly on top of these messages, and works fine.
    Also, when I open Paint Shop Pro, I get no error messages, and it works fine.

    In an effort to resolve the problem, I uninstalled PSP (yes, I even purged any mention of it from the registry. But I still get the PSP configuration and error messages when I start Sonic.

    I would like to uninstall and re-install Sonic, but since it came installed on the machine when I bought it, I have no installation disks available, so no way to re-install it. HP has an update for this program on their driver site for this computer <http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=pv-39473-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&os=228&product=501193 &key=null&site=null>, (file sp26721.exe), that looks big enough to be a complete installation program, but I'm not sure enough to delete the current version from my hard drive. I did run the update on the current version, but it didn't resolve the problem.

    I'm thinking that if I could completely remove and reinstall the Sonic program ( and PSP), that should clean up any registry issues.

    I'm looking for any help or suggestions that you could provide.

    Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Les, have you tried contacting HP Support directly. When I did, from UK I was answered by Canadian section.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Feinstein View Post
    Running Win XP Pro SP2 on an HP d4100e desktop.

    I've got Sonic DVD writing software (Sonic DigitalMedia Plus v7) that came installed on on the computer when I purchased it. I've also got Paint Shop Pro 9, that I installed on the computer some years ago. I've been using both programs with no problem.

    The issue I'm recently experiencing is as follows:

    When I start the Sonic program, I get a dialog window that says "Please wait while Windows configures Jasc Paint Shop Pro 9" This "configuration" window never completes (stays open), and immediately generates an error message that says "Internal Error 2718. {F843C6A3-224D-4615-94F8-3C461BD9AEA0}" (these are both Paint Shop Pro messages). A screen shot of the messages is attached (I hope).
    Meanwhile, the Sonic application opens properly on top of these messages, and works fine.
    Also, when I open Paint Shop Pro, I get no error messages, and it works fine.

    In an effort to resolve the problem, I uninstalled PSP (yes, I even purged any mention of it from the registry. But I still get the PSP configuration and error messages when I start Sonic.

    I would like to uninstall and re-install Sonic, but since it came installed on the machine when I bought it, I have no installation disks available, so no way to re-install it. HP has an update for this program on their driver site for this computer <http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=pv-39473-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&os=228&product=501193 &key=null&site=null>, (file sp26721.exe), that looks big enough to be a complete installation program, but I'm not sure enough to delete the current version from my hard drive. I did run the update on the current version, but it didn't resolve the problem.

    I'm thinking that if I could completely remove and reinstall the Sonic program ( and PSP), that should clean up any registry issues.

    I'm looking for any help or suggestions that you could provide.

    Thanks.
    There is free version of Ashampoo that might be just as good as your version of Sonic. Download it and give it a try. You may be able to replace the Sonic completelty.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Thank you both for your replies.
    Let me tell you how I resolved the problem (rather, how the problem resolved itself, since I never really figured out what caused it).
    As I mentioned in my original post, I uninstalled PSP, but still had the problem when starting Sonic. So I attempted to re-install PSP from the original disk, but it would not install (kept asking to insert "Disk 1", but I had no idea what that meant).
    Following up on my thought that this was a registry issue, I downloaded CCleaner (I usually avoid registry cleaners). While familiarizing myself with CC's features, I went to the Uninstall screen, and noticed that PSP was showing there (it did not show in the Control Panel Add/Remove Programs app, nor could I find any sign of it using Regedit). So I let CC uninstall it.
    This fixed the issues; Sonic would load without the PSP error message, and I was able to re-install PSP from the original disk.
    So I guess I'll keep CC around!

    Roderunner, I had never considered calling HP directly, since my machine is far out of warranty, and I've made many changes to it (including deleting the restore partition). I just figured that they wouldn't want to provide support any longer.

    Gfamily, thanks foer your suggestion. I went to the Ashampoo site, but couldn't find the free version you mentioned (only a free trial download). Otherwise, their programs look pretty good. But since Sonic is working again, and I also have Nero, I would only try Ashampoo if I can find a truly free version.

    Thanks again to both of you.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Feinstein View Post
    Gfamily, thanks foer your suggestion. I went to the Ashampoo site, but couldn't find the free version you mentioned (only a free trial download). Otherwise, their programs look pretty good. But since Sonic is working again, and I also have Nero, I would only try Ashampoo if I can find a truly free version.

    Thanks again to both of you.
    Sorry about that, I posted from work where we are still using IE6 (wouldyabelieveit!).For some reason, the popup to enter hyperlinks is half off the screen, so it's not really practical.

    Home now, so here is a link to the free Ashampoo suite (version 6.xx)

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Les.

    I see from your first post that you said that you are still on SP2. Shame !

    You might not be able to access any updates on the MS site, and I think quite surely that you will be held off. To solve this, use any other machine that has SP3 done, D/L it and from a CD, USB key, run it. I am told that some friend have D/L'd it using FireFox ????

    A nice evening to you. Jean,

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Feinstein View Post
    Roderunner, I had never considered calling HP directly, since my machine is far out of warranty, and I've made many changes to it (including deleting the restore partition). I just figured that they wouldn't want to provide support any longer.
    HP never fails to assist. They arranged for uplift, fit new optical drive and return when warranty had expired all free.
    -
    Read This Link about Ccleaner
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Gfamily, thanks for the link. I'll certainly have a look at the features - always willing to try something if it better meets my needs than what I have.

    Jean, for some reason, SP3 won't install on my computer. In fact, even the Microsoft or HP fixes for the AMD SP3 reboot issue will not install on my computer. In fact, after finally getting SP3 to install from Safe mode, it blue-screened my computer on first re-boot and it took me hours to get it running again. But I can download updates (even with Firefox), and all other updates apparently can install (however, I'm only choosing to install selected ones - I'm not overly concerned about the security fixes). SP2 has been serving me well for years (I would install SP3 if I could), but if I hit a brick wall because of it, I do have SP3 on my laptop.

    Roderunner, that's an interesting link. Looks like everybody has an opinion about what to use CCleaner for. I downloaded it only for the purpose of fixing this issue (kind of a desperation effort), but I have no intention of giving it free rein (although I might still use it for selected chores).
    Thanks for the info about HP tech support - that's encouraging. I might give them a call about my SP3 issues.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Les, hello.

    I see in your last reply, that you are on an Athlon CPU. Darn !

    Have a look at some of the information in this site : http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7574_102...tag=nl.rSINGLE

    I look after three Athlon machines here, one of them totally refused to upgrade to SP3, it runs Ubuntu now. The other two never even blinked on installing the SP3 upgrade. You might find a solution to your dilemma in this site. Granted, your SP2 will work forever even sans the SP3. I still do not know why the one Athlon refused to upgrade, all three have the same CPU. I had a clone of the rebel and could get back to square-1 in 7 minutes and try again but after a few run-arounds, I gave up.

    Have fun. Jean.

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Thanks, Jean. I'm still digesting the info on the site you provided. But I'm reluctant to try SP3 again, and for sure won't try it before I get the re-boot fix to install.

    Roderunner, I'm having trouble finding a good phone number for HP support. Do you have one?

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Les, me again.

    >>> I'm still digesting the info on the site you provided.

    I can undestand why having gone through this myself. The reboot fix is maybe what you do not need. What it does is to get rid of some Intel CPU stuff and here is why. Microsoft provided HP and by the same token, Compaq, with an OEM DVD that included both Athlon and Intel "drivers" and it might crunge some Athlon machines with SP3. I had this problem as I mentioned before on one Athlon, and my three machines are homebrewed, yep, I assembled them all, therefore there was none of this OEM stuff in them and one of them still will not accept SP3 when the other two never even blinked. I nevertheless ran the "fix" and it kept telling me that there was nothing to cure, I knew this !

    If you read all the postings in this site that I provided, you will see that one writer mentions that the system should be flushed somehow. Well, my relunctant machine was a clean install and before I even had it on the Web, I ran SP3 from a CD and still, no joy ! As you see, there is more than meets the eye in this episode. I wish that I could write a HTH to you but I really can not help you, you will have to do your own learning. Do keep me posted.

    Have a great evening. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •