Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    64-bit Vista
    Firefox 3.6.10

    Several years ago I found a way to add a second Bookmarks Toolbar to Firefox. I've forgotten how I did that, but it was handy to have.

    Is a 2nd still possible? If so, how to do it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    Several years ago I found a way to add a second Bookmarks Toolbar to Firefox. I've forgotten how I did that, but it was handy to have.

    Is a 2nd still possible? If so, how to do it?
    You can have the bookmarks bar "wrap" to a second line. I have these rules in my userchrome.css file in my profile\chrome folder:

    Code:
    /* Multi-row bookmarks toolbar */
    #bookmarks-ptf {display:block}
    #bookmarks-ptf toolbarseparator {display:inline}
    I'm not sure whether that's the latest wisdom, but it works for me.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    You can have the bookmarks bar "wrap" to a second line. I have these rules in my userchrome.css file in my profile\chrome folder:

    Code:
    /* Multi-row bookmarks toolbar */
    #bookmarks-ptf {display:block}
    #bookmarks-ptf toolbarseparator {display:inline}
    I'm not sure whether that's the latest wisdom, but it works for me.
    Great! But please tell me where the profile\chrome folder is.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    Great! But please tell me where the profile\chrome folder is.
    Profile folders have weird names, but this article should help in tracking it down: Backing up your information.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Would the multirow add on do what you are looking to do?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Dick, I make folders on the main menu like this:-

    [attachment=90295:Untitled.jpg]

    My most used ones get left on the main page.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Dick, I make folders on the main menu like this:-
    Very nice! How'd you do that?

    Dick

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    Very nice! How'd you do that?
    I can't speak for Roderunner, but if you use choose Organize Bookmarks, you get a rich toolset for arranging your Bookmarks menu.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    Very nice! How'd you do that?
    Hi Dick, the files are made using IE on favourites>organise favourites tabs.

    [attachment=90300:d.JPG]

    Now save the favourites, in the only format available. Add them to FF favourites, position them however you want, now save them, this time they will be .JSON files. The next time you restore FF favourites the old entrys will be overwritten, unlike IE which just adds them to the list whether they are duplicates or not.
    Please post your results.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Would the multirow add on do what you are looking to do?
    That's not what I had before -- which was the ability to add an extra bookmarks toolbar, but it's proved to be even better!

    The Multirow Bookmarks Toolbar instantly wrapped all my FF bookmarks, which are in one long line, into what appears to be 5(!) bookmarks toobars. When there are more than 3, a vertical scrollbar appears, so that you can see only 3 at the same time. My only wish for this add-on is that were configurable so that you could choose the maximum number of lines to show (with the others accessible with the scroll bar). Then I would opt for 2, instead of 3, to save space on my laptop display.

    Thanks, Ted!

    Dick

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My thanks also to jscher2000, and especially to Roderunner for explaining his method for organizing bookmarks. I may give it a try, but first I want to try organizing my bookmarks into folders, all of which would be available on my new, wrapped bookmarks toolbar.

    And recently I came across a post (I've forgotten where) by someone recommending Bookmarks Buddy (<http://www.bookmarkbuddy.net/>), a tiny but quite complex and ingenious bookmarks tool. It's not free, but you can try it out for 30 days (I'm now into my 5th). The developer is Edward Leigh, who by email has helped me work through my beginning problems with BB. As of today, I'm almost certain I will cough up the $29.95 for it. Here's a screen shot. The help is detailed and well-written, both online and downloadable in the forms of a Windows help file and a 48-page PDF.

    Dick

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    That's not what I had before -- which was the ability to add an extra bookmarks toolbar, but it's proved to be even better!

    The Multirow Bookmarks Toolbar instantly wrapped all my FF bookmarks, which are in one long line, into what appears to be 5(!) bookmarks toobars. When there are more than 3, a vertical scrollbar appears, so that you can see only 3 at the same time. My only wish for this add-on is that were configurable so that you could choose the maximum number of lines to show (with the others accessible with the scroll bar). Then I would opt for 2, instead of 3, to save space on my laptop display.

    Thanks, Ted!

    Dick

    There is an option to change to 2 lines somewhere in the options for multirow. I do not presently have FF so I can't point out where this option is located, but look around in the options for this extension and you will find it. I always used 2 rows, not 5. See attached:

    [attachment=90327:Multirow.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    There is an option to change to 2 lines somewhere in the options for multirow. I do not presently have FF so I can't point out where this option is located, but look around in the options for this extension and you will find it. I always used 2 rows, not 5.
    Many thanks, Ted. BTW have you found a better browser than FF?

    Dick

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick Moores View Post
    Many thanks, Ted. BTW have you found a better browser than FF?

    Dick
    Presently using IE 9 beta and Chrome 8 beta. Both seem very nice. Had problems with FF 3.6.10 so said goodbye. It seemed to be getting a little long in the tooth for my tastes.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •