Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm looking at getting a new PC and am now contemplating how much memory to get - 6GB or 12 GB. According to info on a Japanese website the more memory one has the larger the hard disk drive is required. I have never heard of this relationship. The only thing I can think of is that they are thinking about page file size but that still doesn't seem a requirement. I have a fast 70 GB drive for my system and want to use it - can anyone foresee any difficulties if I go for 12GB ram? Feels like a silly question but I thought I'd ask. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    No, I don't see a problem with it at all, although 6 or 8 GBs of RAM is more than plenty for the average user need.
    I have approx 78 GBs alocated to my primary drive and 8 GBs of RAM installed. You will likely not have need for high pagefile usage.
    Even if you did have a heavy pagefile usage, you would be by no means running out of space at 70 GBs anytime soon.

    Can you provide a link to the website?

    .
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Unless you're doing some very intensive apps, you will not have a need for 12 GB RAM. As Clint states, 8 GB is more than enough for the average user, even the above average user. I also would set up an OS partition with about 75 GB and reserve any remaining or another HD for data, etc. 75 GB OS partition is more than enough. Good luck with the purchase.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Check your OS's manufacturer's site to see max amount of RAM you can use.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,177
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Any more than 4GB RAM requires a 64bit OS - which you already knew, but I thought I'd mention it anyway. ;-))

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    My OS, Hp Pavilion 32 bit can only take 2x1gb of RAM.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    The only connection I can come up with between disk space and installed RAM is that on a clean install the O/S will allocate 1.5x installed RAM as the page file (Windows 7 may vary here, would need some clarification) and possibly 1.0x installed RAM as a hibernate file. In your case that would be 30GB if you have 12GB of RAM!

    Now that normally wouldn't be a problem as is it rare to see a new PC with less than 500GB of storage.

    However, you want to use your fast 70GB drive. Firstly you could disable hibernation which would save 12GB and also you could force a fixed size of the page file to say 1 or 2GB, you do the maths!

    Note that even with 12GB of RAM installed, you will still need a page file as some programs do rely on it and MS crashdumps also rely on it.

    Good luck Cah

  8. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clint Rossmere View Post
    No, I don't see a problem with it at all, although 6 or 8 GBs of RAM is more than plenty for the average user need.
    Perhaps you are paraphrasing Bill Gates' apocryphal comment, that "640K ought to be enough for anybody"?!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  9. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    Perhaps you are paraphrasing Bill Gates' apocryphal comment, that "640K ought to be enough for anybody"?!

    Only for the moment, but that moment hasn't passed.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •