Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Loungers,

    I have suddenly started experiencing a 2950 error for something that was previously working. Although the literatre suggesta that this is a security issue (damn MS, it's just too complicated!) this cannot be since everything is trusted and the database is the same, in the same location etc. The only change was a small event procedure change.

    I have done a compact and repair and now loading the form in question causes a "retrn with no gosub" error.

    I have no idea how to fix this? any suggestions?

    liz

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have found a solution. I have no idea if it will stick or if it will work every time this occurs but it is this:
    • backup the db
    • copy the offending form
    • open the copy and check if it behaves
    • if yes, delete the original
    • rename the copy to the original form name
    • for good measure I did a compact and repair as well


    I hope this helps anyone else with the problem, it was especially confusing because a) everything was trusted b) I don't have any GoSub statements.

    liz

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I encountered the same problem yesterday. A project I was working on just started throwing that error for no apparent reason.

    I fixed it with a Decompile.

    I create a shortcut to the db like this, with a /decompile switch on the end.

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office2010\Office14\MSACCESS.EXE" "D:\John\Access\bouverie\Workloads.mdb" /decompile
    Regards
    John



  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Liz,

    If a decompile will fix your problem here is aFree utility to decompile VBA projects. This makes the process much simpler. I keep a shortcut to this on my Desktop and use it all the time. In a lot of cases it drastically reduces the size of files {Access & Excel - haven't tried it in Word yet} with VBA in them.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    many thanks guys!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •