Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Missing Drive

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    See below

    Why is the D: drive not showing in My Computer?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you ran chkdsk on your D drive lately?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Using cmd as Adminstrator

    chkdsk reports

    Window has checked the file system and found no problems..

    Any other thoughts?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Change or remove the drive letter, then boot and reassign the drive letter.
    You might want to consider putting all your drive letters back into their respective assignments.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Bryan, hello.

    You might "wake" it up by looking at it = Open. How ? In the Disk Management page that shows the D:\, right click on it, click on Open and it will. You can then use it as if you had opened it in My Computor. Methinks.

    If it is user protected as the first partition "System", you might have to do more aerobatics. Jean.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    In Explorer, under Tools | Folder Option | View, is "Hide empty drives in the Computer Folder" checked?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Peter said
    "Hide empty drives in the Computer Folder" checked? No
    Jean said
    You might "wake" it up by looking at it = Open. How ? I already have a shortcut to D: and can type D: in the Address line of Explorer

    I am asking my question as I would like to know technically why I can't see it in My Computer.

    I will change drive letters - reboot twice to get it back and report back here.

    Bryan

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 160 Times in 138 Posts
    Good luck with your double reboot.

    I found thisHide amd Lock Hard Disk Drives in my Computer which may help.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    2nd reboot didn't help...

    Firstly typing gpedit.msc in the run box - didn't
    I found the file in one of the long Windows folders by seraching - when X2 clicking I got this.. any clues how to proceed?

    [attachment=90336:lgpe.PNG]

    Bryan
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    If your Windows 7 is Home, you don't have the Group Policy Editor, just the Local Client.

    I would try another run at chkdsk and use the /r switch.

    After that finishes, run sfc /scannow.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you bbearen - I have Home Premium.

    So I'm still looking for an answer to the mysterious hidden drive.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Wetton View Post
    Thank you bbearen - I have Home Premium.

    So I'm still looking for an answer to the mysterious hidden drive.
    I haven't given up on you; I keep looking for ways to hide one of my partitions, with the thought that if I can do that successfully, it might provide some insight in getting yours to show.

    How is your CD drive listed in My Computer?

    Does your Folder Options look like this:

    [attachment=90340:Folder Optons.PNG]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks very much for staying with me on this...

    Here's my Folder Options

    [attachment=90346:bw_fo.PNG]

    Bryan
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As it happens I just installed DiskPie by PCMag.

    Here's what it shows

    [attachment=90347:bw_dp.PNG]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    It looks like you have around 2 GB of files on D:. My suggestion is that you create a folder on C:, copy your files from D: to that folder, do a full (not quick) format on D:, then see if it shows up in Computer after the format is complete.
    If it does, move your files back.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •