Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I am using Microsoft Office 2010 Home and Student Edition. When I attempt to copy text on the internet using Ctrl C and then past that text in Word 2010 using Ctrl V, nothing happens. It does not work.
    I must right click the highlighted text and then left click on Copy in the resulting drop-down menu, then go into Word 2010 and left click on the Paste button in the Clipboard section of the Home tab. Can this problem be corrected?

    Thank you.

    Moon

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    You need to determine whether this is a problem with your browser (you didn't mention which one you were using) or with Word. Can you paste into a different program?

    In my experience, if I do a copy and immediately toggle to another program then the clipboard occasionally doesn't get captured. If I allow a couple of seconds after the copy then I have more luck.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Andrew,

    Thanks for responding. I am using IE 8. I am able to use Ctrl C and Ctrl V to compy and paste into Word Pad and Sticky Notes. So I am convinced that the problem is Word 2010 specific.
    I tried your suggestion of waiting a few moments before pasting into Word 2010. That did not eliminate the problem.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    Hi Andrew,

    Thanks for responding. I am using IE 8. I am able to use Ctrl C and Ctrl V to compy and paste into Word Pad and Sticky Notes. So I am convinced that the problem is Word 2010 specific.
    I tried your suggestion of waiting a few moments before pasting into Word 2010. That did not eliminate the problem.
    Are you able to do a Paste Special rather than a straight Paste? I always find it annoying that Word (2003 in my case) tries to paste from web pages as HTML rather than as plain text. Sometimes the paste causes Word to lock up.

    Very annoying.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    No, Gfamily. The pasting function is blanked out. Now this is when I copy something on the internet and then open Word 2010 and attempt to paste. But I just found out that if I open Word 2010 prior to copying internet text, I am able to use Ctrl C and Ctrl V when copying and pasting data from the internet to Word 2010. I am wondering if there is some setting in Word 2010 that must be set so that the paste function is automatically turned ON when the Word 2010 is opened.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    Now this is when I copy something on the internet and then open Word 2010 and attempt to paste. But I just found out that if I open Word 2010 prior to copying internet text, I am able to use Ctrl C and Ctrl V when copying and pasting data from the internet to Word 2010.
    Some older add-ins (for Word 2000-2003) used the clipboard as part of the process of customizing their toolbar buttons. Perhaps that explains how the clipboard is being cleared when you start Word 2010? To test this theory, you could start using the /a startup switch to prevent add-ins from loading, and then try to paste.

    Start > Run > winword.exe /a {ENTER}

    More info on startup switches: How to use startup command line switches to start Word 2010, Word 2007, Word 2003, Word 2002, and Word 2000.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    For what it's worth Moon, this is not how Word 2010 works for me. I have not altered any copy/paste functions nor changed keystrokes.

    I went to the internet, copied some html text, then opened Word 2010 (in fact, it hadn't been opened at all today) and pasted. I had no problem.

    I also think looking for something that runs on startup is a good way to proceed.

    Kim

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 76 Times in 67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Perhaps that explains how the clipboard is being cleared when you start Word 2010?
    That clearance can be confirmed by Moon doing your usual, ie:
    Copy on a web page, then open Word--but don't try to paste;
    Now open Wordpad or other and see if you can paste.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was having the same problem with Word 2007.

    Copy/paste would not work if I did the copy from my browser (Firefox) window and then opened Word 2007 to paste. Things worked well if both applications were running before the copy/paste. I'm using FoxIt PDF and I found that if I disabled the FoxIt PDF add-in in Word then the copy/paste function worked as it should. Haven't found the reason for this issue.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by David Orr View Post
    I was having the same problem with Word 2007.

    Copy/paste would not work if I did the copy from my browser (Firefox) window and then opened Word 2007 to paste. Things worked well if both applications were running before the copy/paste. I'm using FoxIt PDF and I found that if I disabled the FoxIt PDF add-in in Word then the copy/paste function worked as it should. Haven't found the reason for this issue.
    We found this was an issue with a particular set of templates at our office. When I changed the macro security settings to medium the function returned. It might be worth looking at your macro security settings. I don't have 2010 here at the office, just 2003 and 2007 but probably in the same location for Word 2010. File|Options|Trust centre and see below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Patricia

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have the same issue with Word 2002--Paste is disabled after I open Word for the first time.
    I AM able to Paste when I start Word in Safe Mode (Run>winword /a), so someone suggested that I disable add-ins, but I couldn't find any that were loaded.
    I'm still looking for a fix, but I have found a temporary work-around for now that might interest someone .

    Just today, I found that if I change an option in the clipboard, even though Paste is disabled, I can paste the information from the clipboard. So, in Word, I clicked Edit>Office Clipboard. Then for me, the options button was at the bottom of the clipboard task pane. I selected "Collect Without Showing Office Clipboard" then closed Word. Now, if I want to paste something directly after opening Word, I can go to Edit>Office Clipboard to bring up the task pane where it says "Click an item to paste."
    I'm still not satisfied with this work-around , but I thought it might be a temporary fix for someone or a clue for someone else

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I see this is not a new thread but I have a similar problem with a twist. I'm using Win7 with all current updates. One internet site that I use requires that subscriber to enter a username/password at logon. However, when doing a ctrl-C to copy selected data and pasting into Word, the site also requires me to re-enter the username/password. Here's the process. Login to internet site, select data, open MS Word 2010 to a blank document. When I a ctrl-V to paste the data, I then get a "Windows Security" pop-up screen telling me that the site requires username/pw and provides data input lines for username & pw. This appears to be a security screen from Win7 since it has my user icon by the input lines. I enter the un/pw in the boxes provided, the security screen disappears and the data is copied into Word 2010. This is working like I want it to work. Problem: I have upgraded to Word 2013. When I follow the process I used in Word 2010 in Word 2013, the cursor disappears for a moment, no data is pasted and nothing changes. I had this same problem earlier when I upgraded from Word 2007 to Word 2010 but shortly after the upgrade it suddenly "fixed" itself and I never knew how. I think this must be some security setting in Word 2013. I have tried to make sure that all the Word options are the same on 2010 & 2013. Can anyone give me an insight on the problem?

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    Does it work if you choose to Paste Special as text only?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, it made no difference which paste option was used. However, in the past few days since that I wrote the previous post (2013-05-23) the website software was completely re-written and updated. Now, it no longer asks for the logon password the second time when copy/pasting into Word 2013 (also now true in Word 2010). But also with the change none of the graphics, tables, logo, etc. are now copied. Only the text. Again, it makes do difference which paste option is used. Previously with the older website, the graphics, etc. were copied to Word after the 2nd userid/pw was entered. Now, the graphics, etc. are replaced on the paste with an invisible "text box"? which shows up only when you click on the location of that graphic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •