Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    For support purposes, periodically I modem into my client

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    It should be pretty straightforward to put a module in the Maintenance database (A) which imports all the objects in the Production database. However, without lots of clever VB, you will still have three manual steps as I see it:
    1 - Copy the Maintenance Database A (with explorer or a batch file)
    2 - Open the Duplicate Database B and run the code to import everthing from the Production Database C
    3 - Zip the Duplicate Database B - don't know of anyway to automate this but don't use zip tools all that often

    Hope this helps.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Not that i've ever done it, but this looks to me like a case in which i would investigate Replication as a solution.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Hi WendellB

    Thanks for your response, not too familiar with VBA code, can the following be done with macros?

    Can you point me to VBA code that might accomplish the following?

    How to Automate Import process?

    A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1

    For support purposes, periodically I modem into my client

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Yes, transfers can be done with macros or with VBA - the problem is that the TransferDatabase command requires you to specify the object you want to transfer. If you want to copy the entire database, then you have to specify each object if you use a macro. On the other hand, if you use VBA, it can sweep through the system table that enumerates the objects and transfer each of them. VBA is a much more robust solution.

    A recent thread explored this in some depth:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=acc&Number=78522&page=6&vie w=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&fpart=>http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.p...;o=0&fpart=</A>
    Wendell

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to Automate Import process? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Have you tried using the CompactDatabase function? This compacts a database into a second database. This not only solves your problem of getting everything into a second database, but eliminates the bloat as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •