iNET Interactive
    Thanks

LANGALIST PLUS

Preparing for the switch to the IPv6 standard

By Fred Langa

The next standard for Internet addressing — Internet Protocol Version 6 or "IPv6" — is almost here.

Here's a quick update on IPv6, its status, and what you need to know for the rollout.

The full text of this column is posted at WindowsSecrets.com/2010/10/21/05 (paid content, opens in a new window/tab).

Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.
    Last edited by revia; 2011-01-19 at 14:49.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Interesting timing!

Wednesday's Networking blog, Fixing Windows 7 IPv6 Headaches by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols states a few issues with Microsoft's IPv6 implementation in Windows 7. He mentions a command line fix to resolve the NDP issue.

Hopefully these issues will be resolved in the next Service Pack.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    This is my first attempt to use the Lounge, so don't know if I'm doing it correctly. My aim is report a problem with Fred Langa's article.
    I wanted to learn more about reviving a hard drive, so clicked on his link to his prior articles on the subject. That only took me to a prior WS page, but neither of the four links to his article worked and the link to Tech Republic's "200 Ways to Revive a Hard Drive" did take me to the TR site, but they no longer have the article available to download and as far as I could tell, it was not even available to read onsite.
    I hope Fred, or someone, can tell me how to obtain this information.
    Thanks.

Thanks
    Hi Jay,

Unfortunately, I found the links to be dead as well. The only article I am able to fine is "200 Ways To Revive a Hard Drive" originally published by TechRepublic. Use this link to be able to view it in the online Google Docs PDF reader.

The links in Fred's main article released today are in working order.