Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am trying to do an advanced filter. However, it seems as though the first item in the column of 25 I am trying to do a unique filter on keeps getting repeated. For example, if the first item in row 1, column 1 is "John", and "John appears also at row 12, column 1, John is included 2 times in the unique filter. Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Make sure one of them doesn't have a space preceeding or following it, that would make it unique.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I did that. I even re-typed the duplicating entries in the original column so that both would be the same, and it still is repeated!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Could you possibly post a sanitized version of your workbook?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here you go...this is the actual spreadsheet; I referenced 25 in my column in my original post just for example purposes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Seems to work for me here's the workbook.
    Note the Defined Names of Database, Criteria, Extract! If you use these names to define your ranges the Advanced Filter dialog will pick up the ranges automatically.

    Note: I did this test in 2003 converting the file in both directions.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was just simply doing an advanced filter-unique characters only and copying the results to a same-sized column elsewhere on the spreadsheet; I wasn't using the criteria-how does that work?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Attached are 3 pages from a course I created on Excel databases years ago so the screen shots are dated but the concepts are all still the same. I hope this helps.

    Also note the sheet I posted has the Criteria range blank which equals all records, see the note with the bomb icon in the attached pages.

    BTW: When using the Advanced Filter it helps if you have labels at the top of your columns, you'll notice I added it to the sheet you posted.

    Post back if you need more help.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. I'll take a look.

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    More than 'helps' - advanced filter assumes the top row is a header row, hence your problem.*
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •