Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I attempted to install AVG & Avast and experienced the same error after installation. I would click on the shortcut for the installed file and get the attached error message. Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Go to the AVAST websitew and get their uninstall utility and do the same thing for AVG then install AVG.. I don't like Avast and I know others that have had problems with it.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had uninstalled AVG and then reinstalled and got the same error. This happened once it prompted me to upgrade to AVG 2011.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crottyjd View Post
    I attempted to install AVG & Avast and experienced the same error after installation. I would click on the shortcut for the installed file and get the attached error message. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    You should never install 2 separate AV products to run at the same time. You should choose one or the other. Having 2 AV apps running together can cause conflicts.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was only running one version at a time. To clarify I was running the older version of AVG (I believe version 9). AVG prompted me to upgrade to 11. I did. When I restarted I got the error message. I uninstalled AVG. Restarted. Downloaded and installed Avast. Same error. Ideas?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    There is not an attached error. You will have to repost the error message.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry about that, Attached now.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I might try a different app such as MSE. This might show whether there is a problem with these other 2 apps. I would also not trust their uninstall routines, but choose a 3rd part uninstaller such as Revo Uninstaller to try to clean out the left over stuff the apps uninstaller leaves behind. It might be this left over stuff that is causing your problem. I would uninstall both Avast and AVG using Revo, then try a different app such as MSE. Please post back to let us know if this works.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Westfork AR USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Opinion are like... but just my 2 cents. We use the free avast at home. I have it installed on an xp box, a vista 32 laptop, a vista 64 laptop and a win7 64 laptop. Runs wonderfully on all the above. Have also used the avg free av. Both current versions are good. I haven't tried the current avg product on anything but xp however.
    As to your installastion issue - the posted error was pretty specific. Have you checked the logs? (I lost the error post while replying and don't remember exactly what is was.) If you can locate the log - check and see if it has a link posted in the bottom of the description box to check the MS database for guidence.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Would this from the Avast forums help?

    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=54757.0

    It almost sounds like you could have corruption in your c++ libraries.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I might try a different app such as MSE. This might show whether there is a problem with these other 2 apps. I would also not trust their uninstall routines, but choose a 3rd part uninstaller such as Revo Uninstaller to try to clean out the left over stuff the apps uninstaller leaves behind. It might be this left over stuff that is causing your problem. I would uninstall both Avast and AVG using Revo, then try a different app such as MSE. Please post back to let us know if this works.
    What Ted said.

    And it wouldn't hurt to run sfc /scannow.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Revo & MSE worked! Thanks for the help!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crottyjd View Post
    Revo & MSE worked! Thanks for the help!
    That's good news. I've been using MSE on all my machines since shortly after MS made it available, and REVO longer than that. I've found both to be quite effective, and you can't beat the price.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •