New Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm new to MSE but for two weeks now, when MSE runs it's scheduled scan, my DNS settings disappear I'm using the standard Open DNS address on an XP Pro SP3 box. Anyone with ideas?

Thanks
    Hi Ed, welcome to the lounge/

Have you installed these in your router/modem ?

[attachment=90392:h.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Ed, welcome to the lounge/

Have you installed these in your router/modem ?

[attachment=90392:h.JPG]
    No, I'm using my router strictly as a gateway. However Those are indeed the addresses I use within Windows. And that's what is disappearing, giving me no DNS service to connect with. The fields are emptied. I just fill those fields and I'm back up.
    My question is why would MSE strip those fields?

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Portzline View Post
    No, I'm using my router strictly as a gateway. However Those are indeed the addresses I use within Windows. And that's what is disappearing, giving me no DNS service to connect with. The fields are emptied. I just fill those fields and I'm back up.
    My question is why would MSE strip those fields?
    If your changing the PC's DNS instead of using the default option to get dynamically is because you never rebooted after the change possibly. As to why MSE alters them I've no idea. I suggest adding them to your router.modem and leave PC settings as they are. If you go to OpenDNS home page, it gives instructions on how to set up and start using OpenDNS.
    http://www.opendns.com/solutions/overview/
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post