Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Greetings!

    I've finally upgraded to Office 2010 and I'm trying to install Outlook. I went through Add new account steps and test account settings produced a Congratulations!

    But when I clicked on Next I got a message about: unknown error 0x80070002.

    Can anyone tell me what this is and what to do about it?

    Thanks.

    Neal

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Start here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310794/en-us post back if this doesn't help.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the help.

    Before I start monkeying with the registry (which is always fraught with risk), it occurs to me that I maybe should have mentioned that this is a new copy of Word/Office 2010 being installed on a virginal new computer with the latest version of Windows 7.

    Does the XP-oriented solution still apply?

    Neal

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you disable your anti-virus software before starting the install?

    Did you try "run as administrator"?

    Are you installing the 32-bit Office or 64-bit Office?

    Is this on a corporate network where .pst files may be disallowed?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    <<Did you disable your anti-virus software before starting the install?>>

    Since I'm using the MS Security software, I didn't think I needed to.

    <<Did you try "run as administrator"?>>

    I haven't. Do mean run the software or the installation as the administrator?

    <<Are you installing the 32-bit Office or 64-bit Office?>>

    32-bit. I've heard that 64 is unstable.

    <<Is this on a corporate network where .pst files may be disallowed?>>

    No. It's a single laptop.

    Thanks.

    Neal

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Usually these days a/v software is not an issue but If I have any issue with an installation I always disable the A/V software just as a precaution.

    Sorry for the confusion, I meant run the installaltion as administrator.

    Currently, the big problem with 64-bit Office is that most addons have not been upgraded to 64-bit. The software itself is very stable.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm new to Win 7. How do I run the installation as administrator?

    As the sole user, I was never asked to identify myself as Administrator.

    So I just downloaded the software, opened and installed it.

    Which probably explains the origin of the snag.

    Thanks again.

    Neal

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What .exe you ran just right click it and select "run as administrator".

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Cool.

    Remedial question: Should I delete the original installation of Outlook before I run the installation again?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I would. Things seem to work better if it is a clean install.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Uh oh.

    I did a clean install. I uninstalled the entire Office suite and reinstalled as administrator.

    I set up Outlook and the Test Account Settings succeeded.

    And then I got the same error message again.

    Now what do I do?

    Thanks.

    Neal

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Try the XP fix John mentioned earlier?

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I guess I could try the registry adjustment fix. In my very limited knowledge and experience, though, it seems like it might be a tad severe for a brand new computer (that isn't a Dell).

    Or it could just be the fear spawned by everything to do with the dreaded registry.

    If it helps, I talked to a tech at my ISP and he suggested that since the e-mail service uses POP having two computers (the old computer and new computer) using the same email address is causing the problem. However, when I deleted the address from the old computer, the problem was still there.

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Before you delete the registry keys, you could try creating a new mail profile.

    Note: Be sure to backup (i.e. export) the registry keys before you delete them.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    To ech Joe's comments, make a backup of the entire registry through File | Export as soon as you open Regedit. Then use Regedit's Edit | Search function to find the key you are looking for. Export that specific key if you wish for additional backup security. Than make the edit - post back here if you are at all uncertain about it. The Registry is not so scary, just don't run amock in it and change things without a precise understanding of the key you're changing and the values it can take.

    There's one more option for your problem, but it shouldn't apply for a fresh install, that's why I haven't mentioned it yet.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •