New Lounger
    Thanks

Unhappy

Hi everyone,
    I have been using Google Deskbar for many years now and is no longer supported and is also acting strange here lately. Is there an equivalent out there without getting the Google Sidebar. I did try that but it's way too much for my needs. I have Windows XP pro, SP3. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Using a modern browser like Chrome - just enter search items in the address bar and hit return. In Firefox the search bar is right at the top. The new internet explorer allows searches right in the address bar to. I dont' know about previous versions as I dropped IE back at version 6 as it's such an insecure and greatly exploited browser.
    What if your local back-up disks are stolen or damaged (fire, flood, earthquake)
    What are you going to do?
    LOCAL and OFFSITE back-up - the only true way to protect your data.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for your reply. I realize the address bar in browsers but prefer to be able to search without opening browser. I know I'm probably reaching for the unattainable....but have to try. If I'm not mistaken, there was an article out there somewhere awhile back that explained a way to extract the "search bar" from Google Side Bar, but didn't bookmark it at the time and havn't been able to find it since.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't know if this will help you. Here is a quote from a Google site.....
    "If you'd rather not have a sidebar, you can minimize it into either a deskbar -- which you can use to keep a small search box right in your Windows taskbar -- or a floating deskbar -- which includes a search box that floats above all other windows and can be dragged anywhere you want on your desktop. Both these options allow you to quickly launch applications or search your computer and the web."

From this website .... Google Desktop features

New Lounger
    Thanks