Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Quincy, MA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have built a simple six field report that I must now page break when the first field (text-based) changes. I'm very weak with Access, and have no background in SQL; am also very appreciative of any detailed, step x step help that can be offered. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Pete,

    If you will Right-click on the square indicated by the red arrow in the first picture below you will get the Sorting and Grouping dialog. Simply select your field name {Agency in the example #2} then the Group Properties options at the bottom will appear. You can them make the appropriate settings here to get it to break the pages as desired. You can use the help for info on each of the settings.

    Good Luck

    Edited to correct error per post below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    If you will click on the square indicated by the red arrow in the first picture below you will get the Sorting and Grouping dialog.
    What version of Access does this work with? It does not work for me with 2010. Clicking that square brings up the properties box for me.

    But I think you need that as well anyway. Force New Page is in the Properties box. The way I do this task is to put in a grouping field with a group footer, then set Force New Page to After Section for the Group Footer.

    [attachment=90408:PageBreak.gif]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Quincy, MA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both; with some trial and error I have been able to get the desired Page Break, however, the Header only appears on the first page and not on the subsequent pages. I would be grateful for help on how to resolve that. I believe if you right click on the box next to the red arrow you can choose Sort/Group.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Quincy, MA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Please disregard the post a few minutes ago, I have figured this out. As usual, you folks have saved my bacon again and are amazing! Thank you.


  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    John,

    I'm using 2003 and I did mis-type it's a Right-Click on the box.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Only just now had a chance to look at this again.

    Unfortunately they seem to have removed this in later versions. In both 2007 and 2010 I find it hard to find the Sort and Group Dialog (Is it a Design Issue or an Arrange Issue or a Format issue?) so I was hoping this right click would work.
    [attachment=90435:rightClickSort.gif]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Hutchison View Post
    Only just now had a chance to look at this again.

    Unfortunately they seem to have removed this in later versions. In both 2007 and 2010 I find it hard to find the Sort and Group Dialog (Is it a Design Issue or an Arrange Issue or a Format issue?) so I was hoping this right click would work.
    John,

    Could this be because you are trying to do it on a Form vs a Report?
    I tried it on my Laptop with 2007 and it's there, see below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Thanks RG


    You are absolutely right! I am tired today and forgot what I was supposed o be doing!
    Regards
    John



  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    John,

    Been there, done that!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    As an aside to this thread, it seems to me that there is a bug with this in Access 2010.

    If you force page breaks after sections, Access 2010 puts in an unecessary blank page at the end. i.e it forces a final page break when it is not needed.
    It does not matter much if it is a long report, but if you want to print just one section (typically 1 page) you get an extra blank page.
    Access 2007 does not do this.
    Regards
    John



  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Georgia, U. S. A.
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rather than start a new thread, my question is closely related to this one but maybe backwards. I have a Report in Access 2010 that I want to fit on one page without having to resize each column one by one. Is there a way, similar to Excel's "Fit to Page" feature that will allow the computer to figure out how to do it for me or must I do it manually in Access 2010? Thanks for any ideas. J. P. Zinn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •