Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi everyone,

    We have had a few instances lately of documents with TOC and/or cross reference hyperlinks becoming corrup. I can fix the documents in terms of formatting to ensure the correct styles are used, however, on attempting to recreate the TOC, for example, the hyperlinks still do not work and I don't know why. I have had a bit of a trawl on here, and on microsoft support, and haven't come up with a solution as yet (if there is one!). Please feel free to take a look at the attached and get back to me (please?!).

    Thanks in advance,

    Violet
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Nancy,
    I just opened your document in 2010 and did a bit of look-around. I noticed that there's a large part of your document that is considered a bookmark if the attached screen shot is to be believed. Maybe deleting the problem bookmark and redoing up to the point displayed may help. I don't have my Microsystems DocXTools here at home so I can't run that as a troubleshooter.

    I then deleted and re-inserted the table of contents and have attached it in case it helps you at all.

    One thing you might try would be to insert the file into a new container. I've found that frequently the issue is the document container.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Patricia

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nancy, I had another go at this, deleted the TOC, and reinserted using only heading 1. Looks okay to me and the TOC hyperlinks do work.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Patricia

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P O'Rourke View Post
    Hi Nancy,
    I just opened your document in 2010 and did a bit of look-around. I noticed that there's a large part of your document that is considered a bookmark if the attached screen shot is to be believed. Maybe deleting the problem bookmark and redoing up to the point displayed may help. I don't have my Microsystems DocXTools here at home so I can't run that as a troubleshooter.

    I then deleted and re-inserted the table of contents and have attached it in case it helps you at all.

    One thing you might try would be to insert the file into a new container. I've found that frequently the issue is the document container.
    Hi Patricia,

    Violet here (the document I uploaded happened to be for someone called Nancy). I should have specified in the post that we are still working with 2003 here. Also, the reason for a large part of the document being bookmarked is because we create our TOC using a macro. The reason for this is because our documents are often in "parts" effectively where we have the body of the document, the schedules and or appendices for example, so the macro identifies which part is the body, which part is the schedules and so on. I had another document like this at the beginning of the week and did remove the bookmarks (including hidden bookmarks), and did all appropriate reformatting etc to no avail.

    I wanted to ask what you mean by new document container, though? Am I overthinking this and do you just mean move the document to another location?

    Many, many thanks for your replies, any and all help is gratefully received.

    Violet

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi everyone - have found a solution completely by accident (although should've really tried before having to post on here!!!). Ran Workshare protect clean before uploading out document then realised this morning that that had fixed our issue. Patricia, thanks for your replies in any event, and would still like to know if by document container, you mean it's location.
    Thanks!
    Violet

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Violet,

    Probably by 'document container', Patricia means try inserting the content of your existing document, into a new empty document. If your existing document is based on a particular template, create the new document based on that same template, go into your existing document and copy everything but the last paragraph mark, and then paste it into the new document.

    Can you share with us what 'Workshare protect clean' is, and what it does? - thanks.

    Gary

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by violet View Post
    Hi everyone - have found a solution completely by accident (although should've really tried before having to post on here!!!). Ran Workshare protect clean before uploading out document then realised this morning that that had fixed our issue. Patricia, thanks for your replies in any event, and would still like to know if by document container, you mean it's location.
    Thanks!
    Violet
    Hello Violet and my apologies for not responding sooner! Yes, Gary was right what I meant was a fresh Word blank container. I get a new document screen then choose Insert|File. I have solved many of troublesome document issues by doing that for users. As we use Legal MacPac at my workplace it simplifies getting a new container. If the document can be opened I click on MacPac|Attach| to and choose Business template.

    Another way to do it is select all of the document except for the last paragraph mark and paste it into a new container. Omitting the last paragraph mark will most often leave the damage behind.
    Patricia

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by violet View Post
    Hi everyone,

    We have had a few instances lately of documents with TOC and/or cross reference hyperlinks becoming corrup. I can fix the documents in terms of formatting to ensure the correct styles are used, however, on attempting to recreate the TOC, for example, the hyperlinks still do not work and I don't know why. I have had a bit of a trawl on here, and on microsoft support, and haven't come up with a solution as yet (if there is one!). Please feel free to take a look at the attached and get back to me (please?!).

    Thanks in advance,

    Violet
    Your hyperlinks work. But without the \h switch in the TOC code, only the page number is hyperlinked. Yours looks like this:
    { TOC \B "MAIN" \T "HEADING 1,3, HEADING 2, 4, TEXT LEVEL 1, 1" \* MERGEFORMAT }
    { TOC \t "Schedule Heading,5" \n \* MERGEFORMAT }{ TOC \b "schedules" \t "schedules, 6" \* MERGEFORMAT }

    Add the \h before the \*MERGEFORMAT (which you can delete), and your TOC should work as expected.

    Pam
    Pam Caswell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •