Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,

    A colleague of mine wants to insert a piece of text (longer than 255 chars) from Excel into Word in a merged document. Once inserted some of the text is cut of. Our guess is that there is a limit on the numbers of characters that can be transferred across - and that he may have to write in multiple fields.

    Is this something anyone can confirm for certain?

    TIA
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I have found the same limit (255 characters) merging from Access into Word.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I found an old knowledge base article discussing a 255 character maximum when connecting via ODBC in Word 2000 (WD2000: Field Text Truncated When Merging or Inserting Database), but the article says it was patched, so at least in theory it should not be a problem in Word 2003.

    Glancing at this thread on the Databases forum -- [topic=771920]Import into Access from Excel using ADO[/topic] -- it appears that the OLEDB plumbing still imposes the 255 character limit, so perhaps you can switch from connecting via OLEDB to ODBC?

    Another suggested workaround is to connect using DDE.

    Let us know which of these help, if any.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi jscher,

    Thanks for the tip. Only problem is that this is directly between Excel and Word, so for now there's no ODBC source involved.
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RubberDuckOne View Post
    Only problem is that this is directly between Excel and Word, so for now there's no ODBC source involved.
    There are 3 ways to connect to an XLS (Excel workbook). Do you not get this dialog when you specify the source file?

    [attachment=90517:Word2003-XLS-ConfirmSource.png]

    Maybe there is an option for that somewhere...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •