Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Buxton, Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been using Internet Explorer 8 and have just changed to IE 9 Beta - and the problem I am about to explain persists.

    I am running Windows 7 (32 bit). On some websites if I click on a link from the main page I get a blank screen and the Windows busy icon" but the page does not load. If I click the little red cross next to the address bar and then refresh, then the page will (usually but not always) load. I do not have this problem if I use Firefox, nor do I have the problem, in IE on my laptop, only on the desktop. The laptop came with W7 (64 bit) pre-installed; I did a clean install of W7 (32 bit) myself on the desktop.

    I have spent several hours "googling" this issue and tried various solutions including (the most popular proposed solution) of running IE with no add ons but to no avail. This is not a big issue as I can use Firefox as an alternative, but it is nonetheless annoying and I would be interested to know if anyone has a solution?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eromittal View Post
    I have been using Internet Explorer 8 and have just changed to IE 9 Beta - and the problem I am about to explain persists.

    I am running Windows 7 (32 bit). On some websites if I click on a link from the main page I get a blank screen and the Windows busy icon" but the page does not load. If I click the little red cross next to the address bar and then refresh, then the page will (usually but not always) load. I do not have this problem if I use Firefox, nor do I have the problem, in IE on my laptop, only on the desktop. The laptop came with W7 (64 bit) pre-installed; I did a clean install of W7 (32 bit) myself on the desktop.

    I have spent several hours "googling" this issue and tried various solutions including (the most popular proposed solution) of running IE with no add ons but to no avail. This is not a big issue as I can use Firefox as an alternative, but it is nonetheless annoying and I would be interested to know if anyone has a solution?
    [attachment=90474:m.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Buxton, Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I assume your advice is to reset IE. I tried that - no joy I'm afraid. Any other ideas please?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Is it possible that your security software installed an add-on in IE that is interfering with normal browsing? You could use Tools > Manage Add-ons to selectively enable/disable add-ons, or you could start IE with all add-ons disabled as a quick check. Per online help, right-click the Internet Explorer icon on the desktop and click Start Without Add-ons.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eromittal View Post
    I assume your advice is to reset IE. I tried that - no joy I'm afraid. Any other ideas please?
    Try Firefox.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I sorry RR but I have to disagree. I started having many problems with the later versions of FF and switched to Google Chrome. I now use Chrome and IE (Both beta versions) exclusively.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Your Mileage may vary. I have been using the latest version of FF with absolutely no problems what so ever on Window 7 Ultimate 32 bit and is my personal preference. A lot could depend on which add ons you use. Some are buggier than others. Choice of Browser is personal. I would suggest trying them all and use the one you prefer. They all have their advantages and disadvantages. IE - preferred for Microsoft sites, FireFox - faster than IE and the largest catalog of add ons, Chrome - fastest browser especially with Java sites. You can have all three installed with no bad effects. Set the one you most prefer as the default browser.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •