Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hello-All,
    My new Dell win7-64bit system is driving me NUTS!! What's new!?
    I had thunderbird installed and running just fine for my email client....I know it works....Doing the necessary backups and getting all my email into win7 - I ""uninstalled""" the program to have a blank - empty profile...Now I can't open TB - says it's already running, please close all open programs???
    I've tried re-installing and uninstalling-still the programs says it's running!!!
    I don't want to use system restore, since I'm sure it will screw up my other programs that are working fine...especially, roboform...
    Help greatly appreciated!!!!
    John in Dallas
    P.S. When Dell initially set up the system to verify all components were working, the agent said sometimes programs won't uninstall completely using the add/remove function////he did something else to verify all traces were completely removed.....NOW-of course, they have NO IDEA what I'm referring to!!!! What a SAD commentary on the current status of Dell support!!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Click on ths Start Orb and type in services.msc in the search box.

    Find thunderbird (not necessarily in that name; you may have to look at each entry to see what it is supposed to do) in the list of services, double-click it and then click the Stop button.

    See if that enables you to do what you want to do.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I had the same problem.
    I used REVO uninstaller to get rid of it then I re-installed it and it worked fine.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    For future reference, ThunderBird does show in the Processes list when you invoke the Task Manager. Could be that was causing the problem of uninstalling.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Monroe View Post
    For future reference, ThunderBird does show in the Processes list when you invoke the Task Manager. Could be that was causing the problem of uninstalling.
    Yes. Use Task Manager to kill it. I have found that Thunderbird and Firefox will tend to not shut down entirely. The issue usually is caused by plugins that I installed (so I identify then and get rid of them) or by device drivers (I had a smart card driver that prevent Firefox from shutting down, I had to reinstall the smart card driver security key used by it to get Firefox to shut down properly).

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks - Guys,
    Appreciate your responses, but that's NOT the problem! Nothing in TM indicates TB is running? Unless it's masquerading under another name...Firefox is there and labled - TB is there and labled on my XP system..
    I've noticed on the win7 box, when I d/l TB then check in programs/ d/l area, there's nothing in the size column??? Perhaps, it's NOT d/l correctly? Should show the size in MB's. Other programs do.
    I've run CCleaner - has no affect....Also, I notice the TB icon has only ONE KB in size!!?? That's really strange!
    I finally did system restore....Still didn't help!! Running out of ideas?? Registry ---- NO THANKS!!!! I know enough to stay away from that!!
    Thanks for suggestions.
    John in Dallas,

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jon S View Post
    Thanks - Guys,
    Appreciate your responses, but that's NOT the problem! Nothing in TM indicates TB is running? Unless it's masquerading under another name...Firefox is there and labled - TB is there and labled on my XP system..
    Am I reading your comment correctly? It appears that you are saying that TB is shown listed in Task Manager, but there is nothing to indicate TB is running? TB may not be running, but if a TB process is still showing under the Task Manager Processes tab, then that can cause your difficulties. Any TB process should be killed after you quit TB.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Am I reading your comment correctly? It appears that you are saying that TB is shown listed in Task Manager, but there is nothing to indicate TB is running? TB may not be running, but if a TB process is still showing under the Task Manager Processes tab, then that can cause your difficulties. Any TB process should be killed after you quit TB.
    ================================================== ================================================== =============================
    Thanks - Gerald,
    No - nothing appears in task mgr. on my win7 box relating to Thunderbird...I was referring to how they DO appear in my xp box - clearly labeled.
    Thanks / John

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jon,

    Try stuff *in this order*:

    1. Uninstall T'Bird again
    2. Delete any remaining T'Bird folders - both the program location and where email is stored (I'm at work right now, so I can't give you the firm paths)
    3. Run CCleaner twice - once on the normal tab, once on the registry tab. Go ahead and make the registry backup, when it asks.
    4. Reboot
    5. Reinstall T'Bird
    6. Restore your mail folders

    If you still have trouble, I'd download sysinternals' autoruns program, and see just what the heck is set up to run on your computer.

    ~ Rosanne

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    northern new jersey
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    It's a little bit off topic but after you have solved your TB problems, you might consider Portable TB instead of TB. It does not need to be installed so it's a lot easier to move to any system you want (or just carry it around on a USB). I have mine set up so that the same folders are used regardless of which hard disk/operating system I booted off of. Even my Ubuntu disk can run the same mailbox folders so that I don't have to synchronize between systems (although setting that up was a little complicated).

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Haven, CT
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sometimes Thunderbird has problems if it's trying to reference a mail profile that's in the wrong place. You need to locate the following file: C:\users\yourusername\appdata\Roaming\Thunderbird\ . (Note that Appdata is a hidden file.) There should be a text file there called profiles.ini. If this is pointing to an incorrect profile location, then Thunderbird will tell you there's another copy of Thunderbird running. The file opens with notepad, and the text gives the path to the profile. Check to see that the line "Isrelative=1" is there -- that should prompt Thunderbird to create a profile in its default location. If "isrelative" is set to 0, it will look for the profile somewhere else. If it doesn't find it, it won't open. Don't know if that's your problem, but it can cause that message.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by K Giovanniello View Post
    Sometimes Thunderbird has problems if it's trying to reference a mail profile that's in the wrong place. You need to locate the following file: C:\users\yourusername\appdata\Roaming\Thunderbird\ . (Note that Appdata is a hidden file.) There should be a text file there called profiles.ini. If this is pointing to an incorrect profile location, then Thunderbird will tell you there's another copy of Thunderbird running. The file opens with notepad, and the text gives the path to the profile. Check to see that the line "Isrelative=1" is there -- that should prompt Thunderbird to create a profile in its default location. If "isrelative" is set to 0, it will look for the profile somewhere else. If it doesn't find it, it won't open. Don't know if that's your problem, but it can cause that message.
    I'm assuming that you are upgrading from a previous version of Windows. The profile.ini and related files in Windows 7 (& Vista too I think) are kept in the path noted above. If you place it where it was in XP and earlier versions of windows under
    C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Thunderbird\profiles.in i It won't work. (xxx is yourusername)
    This link may help.
    Thunderbird already running

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Madturtle View Post
    I'm assuming that you are upgrading from a previous version of Windows. The profile.ini and related files in Windows 7 (& Vista too I think) are kept in the path noted above. If you place it where it was in XP and earlier versions of windows under
    C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Thunderbird\profiles.in i It won't work. (xxx is yourusername)
    This link may help.
    Thunderbird already running
    ================================================== ================================================== =========================
    Hello - Madturtle,
    Was so in hopes your tip might help!! It didn't!? in (isrelative=1) is there in profiles.ini...
    I've gone through the registry and ((( removed )))) every mention of TB....then d/l and tried to install.....Won't since win7 says it's running??? The first two apps I installed were FF and TB.. ran just fine initially, could send and receive msgs....For some reason --- a suggestion on some forum --- I uninstalled TB to have a -- blank - empty profile to copy my xp mail into??
    Apparently, TB didn't uninstall correctly? I've used the uninstaller in CCleaner and registry function to clean up win7, no HELP....

    I bought carbonite as my back-up, thinking it would be easier to migrate files from xp.....Believe ME,,,,that's my first MISTAKE!!!! I'll never recommend then for """"anything""""!!
    They have NO idea how to get my files where they should be!!!! My files (((( mail - docs word )))) are all over win7!! It would have been easier to d/l everything to my external HD and copied over!!!! I wonder if TB is trying to get into the carbonite backups? I don't see how, they are just files....no profile.....TB makes its own when installed...

    I believe win7 is the main problem!!! I d/l seamonkey - it's similar to TB...It installed ok --- BUT, I can't send or receive msgs.....My settings are identical to my xp settings...Why won't win7 recognize them?
    Thanks for help/suggestions.
    John in Dallas

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Like I said in an earlier post, I had to use REVO Un-installer to get com[completely rid of Thunderbird before I re-installed it.
    Then it worked fine.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    Like I said in an earlier post, I had to use REVO Un-installer to get com[completely rid of Thunderbird before I re-installed it.
    Then it worked fine.
    ================================================== ========================================
    Well OK,,,Banyarola,
    Took your suggestion and d/l revo!!! Found all sorts of left over fragments...deleted them all and searched for everything...revo completely un installed TB..
    D/l another copy...installed it....tried to open - still running close all OPEN appsQ@???
    did the process AGAIN....Still same results...I give up...Guess TB won't install-period...
    I'm about ready to sell or send back to Dell this mess...I don't like win7!
    Thanks for help / john in dallas

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •