Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am looking for directions on preventing Security Essentials from running a scan durring boot up. Boot time is exactly 10 minutes with S E on and running its scan during boot while it is 3 minutes with S E turned off. I normally restart my computer 3 or 4 times a day so 10 minutes is a real pain. I have no other A V and or M W installed.. I can turn off real-time protection just before shut down which returns boot up to 3 minutes but then I have to restart real-time protection after boot up.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Sonny, What A\V & A\M programs are you using ? An image of your Add/Remove would help.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I only have Microsoft Security Essentials on my computer.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Try uninstalling it. reboot. run registry cleaner using default setting with http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/ Re install MSE
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    By default, MSE does not run a manual scan at PC Boot, only when you start it manually or at a prescheduled time:

    [attachment=90560:MSE.png]


    I'm wondering if this option is somehow set to run at each boot of your PC. I am not sure unless your installation does not have a scheduled time set, who knows. If this does not work then as RR states, an uninstall, reinstall may be in order. MS has a discussion of this in their support area.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everybody for your help but MSE still runs a scan during boot so I am giving up for now. I am guessing there is a registry setting for the boot scan but I can't find it.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Sonny,

    Have you checked the Task Scheduler to see if there is a task for MpCmdRun.exe -scan. If you find one there just right click on it and hit delete.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek,


    Yes I have and there is no MpCmdRun.exe-scan in the Task Scheduler. Thanks for the suggestion.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Are you sure its running a scan and not performing an update operation? I have noticed on many machines I have installed MSE on, it performs the update upon boot and slows the machine down. There are no settings available in MSE to control when it updates.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jerry

    It is not running a update as the update version is the same just before reboot as it is right after reboot.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    It could be updating the virus signatures.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The virus signature version number is also the same just before and just after reboot.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    MSE should not be causing or effecting the length of boot time to the extent you have reported.
    I would suggest completely uninstalling MSE, run a mild registry cleaner like CCleaner's registry cleaner, perform a full system boot and reinstall.
    Go over your other applications and processes for coconspirators as there may be some form of mal-interaction amung application programs on
    your computer.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •