Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks
    Setting up (in work shop) an older Dell 8200 (Service Tag G7VWZ01) with a new HD and have Win2K Pro and Win XP HE. Have a lot of experience with W2K pro and none with Win XP. The Dell has only 512MB of memory now.

The question is which OS may serve best. I have no experience with Win XP and have heard some bad 'mouth about it. Comments please and thanks a lot.
    Ray/FL

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Ray,

I'm assuming that this is a standalone, i.e. not connected to a LAN. In that case I'd choose XP as the OS. It is still supported and has all the latest security patches available. Also, a much larger base of programs to run on it including a whole raft of free stuff that works great. Of course, this is My Opinion and I'm sure you'll get lots of others. YMMV.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Along the same lines as RetiredGeek, in that how much connectivity to LANs and the Intenet is it going to have, what programs are going to be running, etc. Win2K is two support stages behind, whereas XP is still supported but even there, Microsoft is releasing programs that only work in 7 and not XP (the reason I say XP is one stage behind now).
    The only reason I can think of to run Win2KPro is if its more of a business computer that is running older business software that is compatible and is more or less a standalone system.

Lounger
    Thanks
    Today I follow your suggestions and installed Win XP. By the time I read the responses I had begun the install for W2K but stopped it, cleaned up the partial install and started over clean and fresh. My first experience with Win XP and I like it very much. I have Win 7 as my main machine and love it much. Thanks for the brief and rich help.
    Ray/FL

Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Revette View Post