Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ... Just wondered if anyone has any idea why this would happen.

    System:- i7 970 : Asus Rampage 3 M/B : 480gtx ; HD50 cooling plus fans : 2 x sata 6gb/s HDDs (C & F) and 2 x sata 3gb/s HDDs (G & H ) : W7 64 : 1200W power source.

    Drives listed as C; F; G; H; The H drive continually gets lost, have physically changed the unit and indeed re used the original unit, following a format on another machine.

    H drive is initially recognised in Disc manager and works fine. At some point in time, usually within 48hrs, it will become invisible to the system.

    OK, so it isn't a life threatening occurance and the rest of the kit works flawlessly and in reallity I can manage well enough without a 4th HDD. But that said it is a huge irritation. Mostly because I can see no logical reason for it to happen.

    So come on guys and gals, any of you have experience of the above? Or maybe some notion as to the cause?

    Thanks, from a very confused dude in the UK. Arnie.
    ...if it ain't broke, don't fix it...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I would check the SATA port on the mainboard by switching drives and looking for similar behavior.
    I've had faulty SATA ports on motherboards before and this seems similar, especially if the drive is known
    good in another computer.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Arnold Seddon View Post
    ... Just wondered if anyone has any idea why this would happen.

    System:- i7 970 : Asus Rampage 3 M/B : 480gtx ; HD50 cooling plus fans : 2 x sata 6gb/s HDDs (C & F) and 2 x sata 3gb/s HDDs (G & H ) : W7 64 : 1200W power source.

    Drives listed as C; F; G; H; The H drive continually gets lost, have physically changed the unit and indeed re used the original unit, following a format on another machine.

    H drive is initially recognised in Disc manager and works fine. At some point in time, usually within 48hrs, it will become invisible to the system.

    OK, so it isn't a life threatening occurance and the rest of the kit works flawlessly and in reallity I can manage well enough without a 4th HDD. But that said it is a huge irritation. Mostly because I can see no logical reason for it to happen.

    So come on guys and gals, any of you have experience of the above? Or maybe some notion as to the cause?

    Thanks, from a very confused dude in the UK. Arnie.
    Arnie, Welcome to the Lounge.

    You say you reformated the H drive in another PC, have you set it as a logical drive (perhaps this is a dumb question since you sound very knowledgable, but sometimes the simplest fixes work best) Any chance you could have a cabling issue, or perhaps a heat issue on the MB controller for this drive? Perhaps a SATA MB problem. Just shootin in the dark at this point.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the speedy replies. Much food for thought there...Ports, Cables etc.

    Looks like my weekend will be taken up with a disassembly and circuit tests....wife permitting.

    Cheers, Arnie.
    ...if it ain't broke, don't fix it...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Have you run any diagnostics against the drive? Perhaps it is failing or close to it. If you have at least one Seagate drive you can use SeaTools which runs various drive diagnostics.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello Peter...all drives are new, as is the whole system and alas WD. But thanks anyway. Arnie.
    ...if it ain't broke, don't fix it...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I guess the next thing I would try is to replace HD 2 with the suspect HD 4 and see if the failure remains in the 4 spot or follows the HD to the 2 spot. This would let you know if the problem is a bad drive (I have seen new drives fail) or something ext to the HD. This is a trouble shooting technique I used for years in the Aerospace industry. You have to be able to start narrowing down the failure. Hope this helps.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Already tried that avenue, Ted. Looks like a faulty Port on the MB as it only occurs when the drive is under heavy use...ie Defragging. There by generating quite a high temp. Which in turn stresses the Port/circuit/solder joints etc.

    Have tested all cables for current flow, no problems there.

    Will Take the MB out over the W/E and return it for exchange at the place of purchase next week sometime.

    Thanks all for your input and ideas. Cheers, Arnie.
    ...if it ain't broke, don't fix it...

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i was about to ask about the PSU wattage, as having 4 sata drives, optical drives and a 480 GFX card, i thought of power issues, but with a 1200W supply, i would hope not, although the 480 at full ability will almost eat half of that.

    if your board was not in warranty, i would suggest fitting a PCIe SATA controller card and offload the backup drives onto that.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Iain, that sounds a good idea anyway, regardless. MB is under warranty, so shall get it exchanged next week...OCuk are very good with matters like that.

    The drives are actually 2 x 600GB velociraptors and 2 x 1TB caviar blacks. one of the caviars being the problem. Think I may get myself a PCIe SATA controller as you suggested while I am there. The more I think about it the more sense it makes. Thanks for the idea. Arnie.
    ...if it ain't broke, don't fix it...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •