Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland. New Zealand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As at today's date, Chrome is up-to-date.

    I really like Chrome over Firefox but am thinking that continuing with Chrome is not worth it.

    After a while and it could be a few minutes or 30 minutes, Chrome grinds to a halt with high CPU usage.
    It also affects all the other windows.

    It takes (probably) 10-15 minutes to kill off all the chrome.exe processes. I can kill, kill and kill even more, but the processes take ages to be removed.
    Several times, I have just removed the power cord to the PC.

    Google may be everyones friend but I have yet to solve this issue. I have cleared the cache, run CCLEANER, closed down tabs so that I don't have too many running at once, to no avail.

    I am using Vista (up-to-date).

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I wonder whether you might have some malware that is creating Chrome processes to evade firewall program control? If you just open to your home page and check the Task Manager after 30 minutes, do you see any unexpected Chrome processes?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland. New Zealand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have re-booted the PC and started Chrome.
    I have by default 2 web sites that open automatically.
    Running task manager and I immediately have 8 chrome.exe running. They seem to take 1-2% of the CPU off and on, but the memory sizes range from 3.5K to 28.6K
    I don't know whether that is normal or not.
    I use Microsoft Security Essentials.

    Edit> I didn't notice another Chrome running in the task bar. Must have accidently started another session.
    Starting from scratch I have 7 chrome.exe ranging from 3.5K to 22K (and only 2 tabs open).

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Any addons? every addon creates a new Chrome thread

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Hello - One memory/CPU hog that I noticed in Chrome is Flash. Take a look at Chrome's (not Windows) own task manager. In Chrome ... do Tools>Task Manager. You might see an entry for Shockwave Flash. You can try "End Process". In Google Task Manager you will see more descriptive names for each open tab. Also, click on "Stats for nerds" for even more info.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland. New Zealand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Luc Schots View Post
    Any addons? every addon creates a new Chrome thread
    Are addons the same as Extensions? If so, I have 2 and 6 disabled

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland. New Zealand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Sullivan View Post
    Hello - One memory/CPU hog that I noticed in Chrome is Flash. Take a look at Chrome's (not Windows) own task manager. In Chrome ... do Tools>Task Manager. You might see an entry for Shockwave Flash. You can try "End Process". In Google Task Manager you will see more descriptive names for each open tab. Also, click on "Stats for nerds" for even more info.
    Thanks. The next time it happens I will give it a go.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    By doing an "End Process" of Flash in Chrome Task Manager on my laptop, I notice a huge improvement in CPU usage, MEM usage, Processes, computer heat, hard drive spinning. Laptop is so much cooler to touch.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland. New Zealand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The next time it happened I found 2 processes in the Chrome Task Manager with high cpu.
    One was from what appeared just to be a Google Search window the other was from "Plug-in: npruntime scriptable Roboform adapter for Google Chrome (1.0.9.51)" (I use Roboform across Explorer, Firefox and Chrome).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •