Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: IE8 Disk Space

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Loungers, what do you set your disk space to in your browser ? See attached image. My default browser is FF, its size is pre-set to use 50mb but shows no size recommendations.

    [attachment=90642:n.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    IMHO I set mine to 50mb.My,Days to Keep Pages in History set to (one) 1.
    Note,look under where it reads Disk space to use.(Recommended; 50-250MB)
    Your computer stores copies of frequently accessed pages in the disk cache. This way, the computer doesn't have to retrieve the page from the network each time you view it.



    Important: A larger disk cache allows more pages to be quickly retrieved, but more of your hard disk space is used.

    To refresh a page at any time:

    * Click the Reload button in the browser's Navigation Toolbar. The computer checks the network to make sure you have the latest version of the page.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Thanks chowur
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    The size you should use depends on your network connection. If you have a broadband connection 50MB should be plenty. If you have something slower than broadband you ought to consider making the size larger. How much larger is up to you. It pretty much depends on how you feel your system is running.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    To add to Joe's post, I have a pretty rapid cable connection (Time Warner Road Runner with Turbo Boost) hence I choose a smaller size (50 MB) and choose not to save pages at all. In fact I purge my temp. internet files when I close my browser. My browser (either IE or Chrome, betas of both) open very speedily because of my connection. I also use Last Pass to sign onto my pages which also speed things up nicely.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Joe Ted, my default browser is FF, DSL speed is 1.5 - 2.0 meg, cache is still at 50mb. At present, I'm experimenting by having FF empty cache on close but seems to have any noticeable effect on loading speed.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •