Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,801
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Hello.

    Yesterday I wanted to install W-7 on a desktop, slipped in the proper DVD and after a while, I got a red LED on the device. This machine has no DVD-ROM or Writer.

    Tomorrow, I will copy the DVD to a pendrive and try to install from it. Question : Will it ? Will the USB ports be lost in the first few steps of the install ? Is the install coded to look for a DVD device and not else ? This will be fun.

    I had an old Thinkpad whose CD went south and I was able to load all that I wanted from a copy to a pendrive, but and a big but, there was an OS already on it, W2K. This attempt tomorrow will be to load an OS !

    Taking bets now ! Jean.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-in...working-guide/

    The critical hurdle is if the BIOS can be set to boot from USB, which most can be these days...less likely the older the desktop is.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    There are numerous articles on doing just this via a Google Search. MS Technet also shows how to prepare and load the Win 7 installation files on your flash drive. Then as Byron states your PC must be set to check your USB ports before DVD or HD to allow the Win 7 installation to proceed from the flash drive. Good luck. Once loaded, buy a new DVD for the PC.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,801
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Ted and Byron, greets.

    Well, it was done. I am now typing at you both on the P4 that just got upgraded to W-7. It was a bit of a struggle but done ! I could not do it from a pendrive, I could not set the machine to boot from USB. I then copied the whole DVD, get this, to a slave HD on it via the LAN. Once done, it was kid's play to click on Setup.exe and voila.

    Game not over yet. I had to get on the router and had to try a few ethernet cards, the one in it was not seen by W-7, I searched in my reserve and finally found one that worked, I am on it now at 10/100 to write this. Some more tweeking to do still. See you later.

    Jean.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Good for you. Perhaps next time the PC will have a USB option in the boot order. Nice method to get it done.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, good method. I was going to suggest an ISO of the Win7 DVD mounted in a virtual DVD drive but that would require making the ISO if not already on hand and installing virtual drive software if not already present.

    With a LAN present there's also the possibility of mapping an optic drive from another system and installing that way, but if the local LAN card becomes inoperable as Win 7 is installed, that method may fail unless everything needed to complete the install is read from the DVD before the LAN card stops working.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,801
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Hello to both of you.

    I said that there was tweeking left to be done, there is. Keeping in mind that this machine is a P4, long in the tooth. The video is a bit of a pain, it will only give me 1024 X 768 and the circles are elongated right-left. I will be looking for a better vid-card.

    I also got O2K installed and the path to all my .docs too. So, it is a workable machine, it will be a stand-by one. I was curious to see if this could be done, I have used one key out of three on this family DVD. I will instal one more on my sister's machine running Vista already, this could ??? be easier.

    Hey, I just resolved the 1024 X 768 mode by going to 88% zoom level. Quite nice now.

    Thanks for the moral support.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Win 7 does seem more behaved on older hardware. Just keep the background apps to a minimum to get a machine that responds as quickly as possible. Good luck with it all.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •