Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have a home network consisting of two PCs a Laptop and a Printer connected by wire through a Router. Before I got the Laptop I had no need of any wireless facility. Now that I have a laptop I wanted to replace the 4 port router that I had been using for many years with one that offered WiFi facilities.
    I chose a Linksys WRT610N and have been having problems with it. One of the PCs runs Win7 64bit Ultimate one of the PCs runs WinXP SP3 and the Laptop runs Win7 64 bit Professional.
    I have got the router working and it correctly provides Internet access via wireless and to the PCs via Ethernet cables. The problem arises when I try to move data files from the WinXP PC to the Win7 PC. I use the Win7 PC to locate the file in the WinXP PC and copy it to a folder on the Win7 PC. The copying starts but very quickly slows down and stops with an error message that it has a problem accessing the WinXP PC folder.
    The only thing I see which is unusual is that the WinXP PC is sending and receiving lots of packets to and from the Router. These appear to be SOAP packets whose purpose is unclear and may not be the cause of my problem.

I want to stop the packets but don't know how.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
    Have you set up sharing on all PCs? You may have to choose all folders on the XP machine that you wish to access through the network, right click (I do not remember if this is the exact procedure on XP) and choose to share each folder.

I also use this router. I have included some shots of my settings:

[attachment=90705ost-28545-12902558353114.png]
    [attachment=90703:Security.png]