Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We have a brand new Win7 box. i3 - 4Gb RAM - terra HD
    At some point someone started to download and install IE9 beta.
    Someone else apparently did something to mess up the installation process.
    Since then IE didn't work at all until I found the beta update in the add/remove updates. I removed it and that works now.
    But none of the Live Essentials programs will start.
    They all start, and then crash with an error that says that "it stopped working", and then that "it stopped responding". (The GUI is in Hebrew, so I'm translating)
    I've done repairs with the LE installer.
    I've done system restore, but I no longer have a restore point from before the problem.
    I've uninstalled the whole group of LE programs, and then reinstalled 'as adim' after re-booting.
    I've been Googling on and off for days, and can find no solution that works for me.
    I thought about reinstalling the IE9, hoping that would put back corrupted files, but I'm afraid that may cause more trouble instead.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried a Win 7 repair install. I would uninstall the entire WLE suite, remove IE all together (see screen shot I have included), insert the Win 7 repair disk or installation disk, then after the installation starts choose the repair installation and let Windows repair the Win 7 installation. You can then turn IE back on and then reinstall the portions of WLE you use. You do not need the entire suite if you do not wish it.

    [attachment=90719:LiveEssentials.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted,
    I've done repair installs with XP a few dozen times so that's pretty straight forward.
    Why am I turning IE off?
    I'll give this a try in a day or two and let you know what happens.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I was just thinking if the IE 9 interupted install corrupted the IE installation, by turning IE off then back on and corruption may be fixed when the browser is turned back on.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Ted,

    Well, I decided to take it back to the store and they said they'd take a look at it.
    I tried the repair install, but I never got an option that said repair install like with XP.
    I didn't want to have a whole new install that would require reinstalling all of the software, but that's what the options looked like they were going to give me.
    I'm still too new to 7 to feel confident, but a few more like this, and I'll be an expert.
    Thanks for your help. I'll be hanging around the Lounge more.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I believe the next time you go to the Win 7 installation, there is a big button to install Windows, and a much smaller link below to Repair your windows installation.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •