Thread: xml extraction

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Greetings,

I'm new to this, and wanted to know how to go about doing the following tasks:

I was given a file in XML format and asked to use T-SQL for the XML extraction and analysis. Submit the results in an Excel spreadsheet,
    import the data in the spreadsheets into a SQL Server relational database. Submit the CREATE scripts for all of the objects in the database; briefly explain how I used the data from the spreadsheets to populate the database. The database should be ready to use for accepting new records, as well.

Thank you in advance.

OCM

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    To really help you with this, we need to know more about your capabilities with SQL Server, more about the end purpose of the database, and probably more about the file you've been given. If you are using Office 2007 or 2010, you can probably import the data into Excel directly and avoid doing anything with T-SQL. Othwise we need to know the version of SQL Server you have available.
    Wendell

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thank you for your reply wendellB,

Actually, my SQL Server capability is limited and I do not have access to SQL Server at this moment. Iím using Office 2007, and I am comfortable with Excel and Access. I can e-mail you the XML document if thatís helpful.

Regards,
    OCM

Super Moderator
    Thanks