Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    I've researched this on google and tried a couple of different solutions mostly involving re-regeristing .dll files. So far no luck. I'm doing this for my Sister-in-law via Team Viewer 5. This is a brand new Dell desktop with 64 Bit Win-7 IE8 32 Bit. Anyone have any ideas?

    Here's what I've tried.
    1. Uninstall IE, Reboot, Reinstall, Reboot.
    2.
    UPDATE - (New Method)

    To resolve this issue, re-register the DLL files that are related to Internet Explorer. To do this, follow these steps:

    1. Click the Orb

    2. Type: cmd in the search box

    3. Right-Click on CMD.EXE in the search list & select Run as Administrator

    3. In the Command Window Type the following commands pressing Enter after each and clicking the OK button
    when told the command executed successfully:

    regsvr32 urlmon.dll
    regsvr32 actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 browseui.dll
    regsvr32 jscript.dll
    regsvr32 vbscript.dll
    regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    Exit

    4. Reboot the machine.

    Now your IE8 Open in New Window/Tab feature, should work simply fine.

    Source: Microsoft

    http://webtrickz.com/how-to-fix-open...roblem-in-ie8/
    3. Run IE as Admin then Restart as normal. Didn't work in either.

    4. Run System File Checker...No errors found.

    FYI: Installed FF 3.6.12 w/No Script...works just fine. I'm trying to get her to switch.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried running with addons disabled?

    What happens if you open another IE instance?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Here is a link for some possible resolutions;Microsoft TechNet
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Joe & Chowur,

    Thanks for the ideas and links. Will get back after the weekend when I can hookup to their PC again.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Ok, I got this fixed. However, I don't know what fixed it. This is because several of the fixes I tried said that there was no re-boot required. Unfortunately, after finally giving up and re-booting the machine everything worked, so I have no idea if one fix or a combination did it. I've attached a file of all the fixes I tried.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Glad to read you have it,FIXED! Happy Holidays...
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •