Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've had this issue before but, I thought I found the culprit (and likely I did) but, I had to do a lot of searching to do so.
    The problem is simply that some programs (either ones I set myself or others that set themselves) are waking my laptop up from standby when it's disconnected from a power source. I know whatever the program is, it probably starts somewhere between 22:30 (10:30PM) and 11:30. I realize this is a large range but, I don't usually leave my laptop unplugged and in standby mode overnight and when I do I usually don't check it for quite a while (Last night I lied down to go to bed around 23:00 (11:00PM) and due to various issues sleeping and my normal evening schedule I didn't even touch my laptop case until 12:00 today (in the past I've checked it a bit earlier)).

    Anyway, if there's any way to check task based on this property instead of having to search through my entire Task Scheduler (assuming it has to be there for such privileges) I'd really love to know.

    P.S. I realize I could just disable LAN wakeup and that should do the trick but, then if I am plugged in and I want my computer to automatically defrag or something (and it was asleep) it couldn't.


    I believe these details are in my siggy but:
    My OS: Windows 7 Professional 32-bit
    Security Software: Comodo Internet Security (all other security programs are active only)
    Other details: Shouldn't matter but, ask if you must.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    I've had this issue before but, I thought I found the culprit (and likely I did) but, I had to do a lot of searching to do so.
    The problem is simply that some programs (either ones I set myself or others that set themselves) are waking my laptop up from standby when it's disconnected from a power source.
    Gregory,
    Hello... I kinda remember ( from the last go around ) but ....you have checked your Power settings> advanced> sleep..? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Gregory,
    Hello... I kinda remember ( from the last go around ) but ....you have checked your Power settings> advanced> sleep..? Regards Fred
    Thanks, I'd forgotten I could do that. Still I'd like to know what the culprit is since I could then change it's settings to wake up only if plugged in (win 7 and vista I believe both have that feature).
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    Thanks, I'd forgotten I could do that. Still I'd like to know what the culprit is since I could then change it's settings to wake up only if plugged in (win 7 and vista I believe both have that feature).
    Look in 'event viewer'
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    Thanks, I'd forgotten I could do that. Still I'd like to know what the culprit is since I could then change it's settings to wake up only if plugged in (win 7 and vista I believe both have that feature).
    If you had it working properly for some time, check for recent updates to various programs. Anything that could have changed any autoupdate settings or any sort of "phone home" for news, etc.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    If you had it working properly for some time, check for recent updates to various programs. Anything that could have changed any autoupdate settings or any sort of "phone home" for news, etc.

    Joe
    The problem is that I don't know exactly when the problem reappeared or if I ever really fixed it. Right now I'm in the midst of a move and my laptop sits unplugged in standby mode at night. Ordinarily I would have my laptop plugged in so if it did wake up it wouldn't die (+ I have a few programs set to wake up the computer if and only if it's plugged in like mydefrag and mbam -fullscanterminate). Nonetheless I shall look for any programs with autoupdates. I don't use any news type programs in Windows outside of a VM or another program. I rather use RSS feeds that update when I open Thunderbird since it's so much easier for me to manage.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •