Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Moundridge, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, anybody and everybody. Our company is thinking about switching from Office 2007 to Office 2010 (Professional). What kind of pros and cons have you run into with this switch?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I've been trying it out in 64bit mode. So far I like the speed which comes from the extra memory (8gb in my case). So far the only the only problem is in the change to macros from 2007 to 2010. While the new structure seems to be good long term, it did not convert any of my keyboard macros correctly. Also, not unexpectedly, several add-in products do not yet have their 64bit versions available.
    Marty

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I really like the improvements in 2010. There is nothing I don't like about it.
    I'm using the 32 bit version

    Major Likes -
    The ease of modifying the ribbon. You can put stuff where you want it.
    Printing to PDF
    I prefer Backstage to the Office button menu
    In Access - The image gallery and no more memory leaks crashing reports with hundreds of images.


    Dislikes -
    In Access I use Rick Fisher's Find and Replace alot. It works in 2010 but you get nags about it being A beta version.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to kentg For This Useful Post:

    hasse (2011-01-28)

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Ditto to kentg's likes. A great product so far (32 bit). (I have no experience of using Rick Fisher's Find and Replace, so I cannot comment in this regard).
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Unless you have a compelling need for the 64-bit version, I would stick with the 32-bit Office 2010. It gets used by a much larger population, so bugs get shaken out much quicker. Our clients run some pretty large Access front-ends and they work well in the 32-bit versions - however if you are running really huge Excel workbooks, then you might find the 64-bit version useful.
    Wendell

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to WendellB For This Useful Post:

    spqapat (2011-02-07)

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Moundridge, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your opinions! We would definitely go with 32-bit. Sounds to me like it shouldn't be a problem.

    One thing I have run in to is on our current system (Office 2007 Professional, running frontend on Windows 7 Professional, backend on an SME_Server) it runs very slowly when more than 1 user is using the database. Also, with all the settings for sharing and record-level locking, we still run in to problems now and then with permission issues. I'm hoping that 2010 will take care of that. I've pretty much singled it out to one computer (when it is using the database) causing the permission problems, but can't figure out why as all the settings are the same on every computer.

  9. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    What format is your back-end - mdb, accdb or some other server-based back-end? And is the front-end deployed to each of the Win7 workstations?
    Wendell

  10. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Moundridge, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    <What format is your back-end - mdb, accdb or some other server-based back-end? And is the front-end deployed to each of the Win7 workstations?>

    Both back-end and front-end are .accdb. Yes, the front-end is deployed to each of the Win7 stations.

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Is it possible that workstation is opening the database in exclusive mode rather than in shared mode? I don't have much experience with the .accdb format in production environments, as we still have users in older versions of Access that don't support it. There are some anecdotal reports of problems with .accdb format when converting from .mdb format. Also you might take a look at Tony Toews Access Performance page for some suggestions. Also, do you have SP2 of Access 2007 installed? If not, try it and see if things get better.
    Wendell

  12. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kentg View Post
    In Access I use Rick Fisher's Find and Replace alot. It works in 2010 but you get nags about it being A beta version.
    I have been getting 4 nags whenever I use Find and Replace with 2010, because my attempts to register my copy were always unsuccessful. Today I realised that I was using the version for 2007 rather than the 2010 version.
    So, after downloading the new version I am pleased to be back to 1 nag now.
    Regards
    John



  13. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kentg View Post
    Dislikes -
    In Access I use Rick Fisher's Find and Replace alot. It works in 2010 but you get nags about it being A beta version.
    I just noticed that in the options for Find and Replace you can turn off the nag message.
    [attachment=91228:Nag.gif]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  14. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I guess I'm in the minority (what's new?). I've found 2 really big issues with 2010 and a 3rd issue that is just painful and will probably go away eventually:

    1) The new macro composition screeen is VERY difficult to work with vs. the equivalent in good old 2007. Before I could create a new macro from an old routine in minutes flat. The old visual presentation was really easy to work with. Resequencing and statement correction was a snap. I could copy and paste, cut and paste to move statements around like I was in Excel. Heck it was easier than Excel. Sigh, those days are GONE. I've spend 30 minutes just trying to move the statements I want around. The Else If, Else trickiness in 2010 (which can't be undone) and inability to move code out of a If/Else nest I often recode statements now. I can't tell you how often I have wanted to just print out my macro code so I could refer to it to see out I had manged to get my statement order mangled when I tried to add around else to an existing if! The one thing about the new marco compsotion screen that REALLY, REALLY bugs me is that they put the "delete statement" and close (macro) window button within about a 1/16th of an inch of each other and use exactly the same image for each. That was dumb, dumb, dumb (dumb)

    The last thing about macros, and I realize I'm sometimes a dim light, but I cannot for the life of me figure out a way to get rid of those hokey triangles that show up about every 2nd or 3rd line within all my macros (whenever a form window is opened or closed for example). What are they supposed to mean? Yes, they there are those nasty little messages that say the commands on these lines are not secure but what does that really mean? More important, how can I get rid of them? These triangles all over the place screw up the code readability such that statements become really hard to follow after a while, for me at least (I'm dyslectic).

    2) Context sensative help is a good thing, right? 2007 did a really nice job there. A big improvement from 2003. Well, 2010 doesn't seem to have ANY context sensative help. At least in the few dozen times I've looked. All I get is the main Access online help screen. When I search there all I ever get back is "not found'. (Regarding those nasty little triangles, there's nothing anywhere about them in Access help that I could find after a wasting more time than I want to admit to.)

    3) I crash Access now least a 2-3 times a day, when using filters. Sometimes Access goes away enntirely (without saving files or providing a recovery safety net like we've become accustomed with other Office apps) and sometimes the fancy filtered query I've just finished coding goes away. It seems to happen mostly with the "contains" clause, either when the result set is empty or too large. (I'm expecting this will go away eventually after MS gets enough crash reports.)

    All the above said, I still don't want to go back to 2007. (I admit that I've seriously thought about it though.) There are all kinds of small but welcome improvements and the expanded command list is a big step forward.

  15. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried 2010 for a week, but the macros did not work correctly, I use around 40 a lot and 50 or so from time to time in Word. I was hoping that there has been some improvement on changing to 2010 or some way to quickly change them to keep from losing productivity. I was wanting to update in particular for PowerPoint, which cost almost as the suite.

  16. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have had problems with Outlook custom forms that reference a database connection in the vb script. No errors given - they just won't feed the data from the form to the Access database.

    Also - Access Snapshot View is gone, so if you have any exports that use it, they will need to be converted to pdf format.

  17. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paustin View Post
    Also - Access Snapshot View is gone, so if you have any exports that use it, they will need to be converted to pdf format.
    That is actually not completely true. They have removed Snapshot View from the Access interface, but you can still create Snapshots via code.
    Of course, the Snapshot Viewer is harder to get.
    Regards
    John



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •