Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: No Sidebar

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Since my system crashed and burned sometime ago, the SideBar gadgets does not auto-open I need to manually force it open each time.
    Any suggestions on how to get it back to open each time I boot my machine.

    Thanks in advance for your knowledge.
    Richard Spring

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Check the registry to see that the sidebar key exist in HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run .

    The string value named Sidebar should contain "C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun" (without the quotation marks).

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe:

    Back to Computer 101 - where do I check the Registry and how to check.
    Richard Spring

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi RSpring,

    Click on your Vista Start Orb and type regedit in the search field. You will see it appear in the search results under a Program heading. Press the Enter key and give the UAC prompt an OK. When Regedit appears, just expand HKEY_CURRENT_USER, then expand Software, then Microsoft, next WIndows, next CurrentVersion and finally Run.

    As Joe said, look in the right pane for a string value named Sidebar followed by the string value of C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun .
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Joe and Gerald:

    The string "C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun" is there.
    Now what? It still does not load when the computer is booted.
    Richard Spring

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    After the PC is booted, use Task Manager to make sure that sidebar.exe is one of the Processes running.

    Also, are these third party gadgets?

    Did you rebuild the system or restore it?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I checked the Task Manager, but could not find sidebar.exe under the Processes tab.

    I used restore to get my system running again, but it still is not up to previous performance.
    The only Gadgets I was using are off the standard MS file.
    Richard Spring

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I went back and manually opened the sidebar and there sidebar.exe was on the Task Manager.
    Richard Spring

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    It appears that sidebar.exe is not starting when you boot. Have you checked the Event Logs for errors?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rock Hill, South Carolina
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't know much but you shouuld make sure that it is not unchecked in msconfig

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I checked the Event Viewer and could not find any errors that seem to fit.
    When I looked at msconfig I did find two items unchecked, which I re-checked.
    When I re-booted the sidebar magically appeared.
    Wow - maybe that did the trick.

    Thanks you Joe and Craig
    Richard Spring

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Opppppppps

    Spoke to soon. The next time I booted my computer I have lost my background picture (now just black) and my Outlook 2007 has become lost.
    When I open Outlook it wants me to start from the beginning setting up the account.

    Can I find a soft corner to bang my head against the wall.

    And the SIDEBAR is GONE again.

    I think I will just cry.
    Richard Spring

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I used Restore and was able to get things back.
    The sidebar still does not work, but I think I can live without it for a while.
    Thanks all for the assistance.
    Richard Spring

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    This sure reads as though you've got a hardware problem. Hhave you run chkdsk? Have you run any disk or memory tests?

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe:
    No I have not run a check, but that sounds like a good idea.
    Will try and let you know results.

    Thanks
    Richard Spring

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •