Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've been using only Comodo (CIS) as an active protection (mbam is my normal non-active or scan only protection). I've noticed that Microsoft has been pushing MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) as an optional update and I was honestly thinking of trying it out but, I don't want to risk it if the programs going to slow down my system or report any info non-anonymously. I expect a slight decrease in performance but, I want to know if it will be a noticeable difference. Other than CIS my computer also runs (constantly): WD Smartware Monitor thing (2 WD EHDD's), Gadwin printscreen, Power Menu, Tomboy Notes, and Catalyst Control Center. I may also be running at any given time: Thunderbird, Firefox, Opera, uTorrent, Proxifier, your-freedom, + another program. My computer has a dual core processor running at 2.1GHz and 4 GB's of PC6400 DDR2 RAM.

    P.S. The only program mentioned up there that I'm not running at this moment is Opera and my computer is using no more than 50% processor (it's fluctuating between 6% and 50%) and about 45% of my memory (RAM).
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Gregory,

    I believe you will find MSE to be less demanding on resources than CIS. I have been using MSE and Windows 7 Firewall since MSE was first released, and it runs lean and mean. My computers have been as safe on the Internet as they have always been. I too use MalwareBytes AntiMalware as an on demand scanner. Many on the Lounge have found this combination to work well.

    Check out this article by Ed Bott on ZDNet for some interesting and enlightening reading about MSE.

    Also check out AV Comparatives.org for some interesting comparisons involving MSE and other major players. The latest .pdf on their site is dated August 2010, which is the "on demand" comparative.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Hi Gregory,

    I believe you will find MSE to be less demanding on resources than CIS. I have been using MSE and Windows 7 Firewall since MSE was first released, and it runs lean and mean. My computers have been as safe on the Internet as they have always been. I too use MalwareBytes AntiMalware as an on demand scanner. Many on the Lounge have found this combination to work well.

    Check out this article by Ed Bott on ZDNet for some interesting and enlightening reading about MSE.

    Also check out AV Comparatives.org for some interesting comparisons involving MSE and other major players. The latest .pdf on their site is dated August 2010, which is the "on demand" comparative.
    What about running both of them together though. Though it can be annoying I do like how Comodo will ask me about just about everything that I let through it. At the same time I'm afraid I may let something through that was part of another program.

    I suppose if there's an alternative to CIS that works similarly and works well with MSE I might consider that as well I just don't want to completely depend on something I have so little control over.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I also have to second what Gerald said. I must advise however that it generally is not wise to run two AV apps in real time as they tend to conflict with each other.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Gregory, read this on how to use Comodo. http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...o-firewall.htm
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Gregory, read this on how to use Comodo. http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...o-firewall.htm
    Sounds like CIS should be able to work side by side with MSE. Still, what would be the performance impact of running both at once (FYI I don't use the antivirus scanner but, do use Defense +). I am thinking that if I do choose to go with MSE with CIS I could probably disable Defense+ (Works much the same as the firewall part except for programs running on the computer).

    Overall, I'm still kind of up in the air with it. Anyone know what MSE actually sends to Microsoft or any 3rd party peoples?
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    Sounds like CIS should be able to work side by side with MSE. Still, what would be the performance impact of running both at once (FYI I don't use the antivirus scanner but, do use Defense +). I am thinking that if I do choose to go with MSE with CIS I could probably disable Defense+ (Works much the same as the firewall part except for programs running on the computer).

    Overall, I'm still kind of up in the air with it. Anyone know what MSE actually sends to Microsoft or any 3rd party peoples?
    Gregory, I have used Comodo as in the link I gave, and its so secure, UAC (User Account Control) can be disabled. I suggest trying the full Comodo package without anything else.
    I, at the moment am experimenting with a different set of security apps. As to MSE ! it kept telling me my OS was not genuine.
    Happy Hunting.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    You can also set windows firewall to ask you each time a program is let through.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    As to MSE ! it kept telling me my OS was not genuine.
    Happy Hunting.
    RR,

    Are you confusing MSE {Microsoft Security Essentials} with WGA {Windows Genuine Advantage}?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Gregory, I have used Comodo as in the link I gave, and its so secure, UAC (User Account Control) can be disabled. I suggest trying the full Comodo package without anything else.
    I, at the moment am experimenting with a different set of security apps. As to MSE ! it kept telling me my OS was not genuine.
    Happy Hunting.
    I suppose that Microsoft anti-theft thing can kill you. Assuming you actually do have a valid key for your Windows chances are someone else has obtained your key (perhaps via a keygen) and now Microsoft is limiting you because of them. The big problem is that (and this has been mentioned here before) the pirate can just go get another key that hasn't been used while your legitimate key is still restricted. Essentially Microsoft is shooting a fly with a shotgun and missing horribly.

    Anyway, assuming I don't have that issue I was just thinking that having a regular protection module with a really good antivirus might be a good idea (and I've heard that despite Microsoft's many blunders MSE is really good). From what I've read while CIS has the best Firewall it's AntiVirus is actually sub-par to that of the big-name antiviruses (ones who's names I won't mention but, cost a lot of money and fail horribly overall). That's why I still bother to scan with mbam in case I let something through my firewall/defense+ without realizing it's a virus. It's also important to note that CIS can't protect against viruses transmitted directly (via USB/SD/CD/DVD/PCI).

    P.S. Even if I didn't have CIS I'd disable UAC. Even the middle setting (available in Win7) is far to annoying for my daily task (I'm always playing around with things that require administrative privileges). Besides even when I have CIS and UAC disabled a UAC style box will come up whenever I try to install certain kinds of programs (presumably kinds that want to change a system driver or something).
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    Are you confusing MSE {Microsoft Security Essentials} with WGA {Windows Genuine Advantage}?
    If WGA says your computer isn't valid then MSE won't install. My dad had this problem with a really old XP disc (that's been used many times legitimately and probably quite a few times illegitimately).

    As I just mentioned in my other post Microsoft shoots flys with shotguns and misses horribly.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    P.S. The only program mentioned up there that I'm not running at this moment is Opera and my computer is using no more than 50% processor (it's fluctuating between 6% and 50%) and about 45% of my memory (RAM).
    Gregory,
    Hello.... Just a different perspective. I only use Norton Internet Security 2011 and Malwarebytes... ( no MS stuff, updates \ patches, security "Mickey MSE" at all ) I also have not stopped anything from running at "startup" and never fooled with them. ( programs that want to always run ) Right now I'm streaming audio and meter is showing 12 to 18 % CPU and 41 % Memory. As i like to say ..." I'm not secretly using my PC in collaboration with NASA to calculate space shuttle launches" so whats the big deal about " system usage" anyway? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,
    Are you confusing MSE {Microsoft Security Essentials} with WGA {Windows Genuine Advantage}?
    NO

    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    I suppose that Microsoft anti-theft thing can kill you. Assuming you actually do have a valid key for your Windows chances are someone else has obtained your key (perhaps via a keygen) and now Microsoft is limiting you because of them. The big problem is that (and this has been mentioned here before) the pirate can just go get another key that hasn't been used while your legitimate key is still restricted. Essentially Microsoft is shooting a fly with a shotgun and missing horribly.

    Anyway, assuming I don't have that issue I was just thinking that having a regular protection module with a really good antivirus might be a good idea (and I've heard that despite Microsoft's many blunders MSE is really good). From what I've read while CIS has the best Firewall it's AntiVirus is actually sub-par to that of the big-name antiviruses (ones who's names I won't mention but, cost a lot of money and fail horribly overall). That's why I still bother to scan with mbam in case I let something through my firewall/defense+ without realizing it's a virus. It's also important to note that CIS can't protect against viruses transmitted directly (via USB/SD/CD/DVD/PCI).

    P.S. Even if I didn't have CIS I'd disable UAC. Even the middle setting (available in Win7) is far to annoying for my daily task (I'm always playing around with things that require administrative privileges). Besides even when I have CIS and UAC disabled a UAC style box will come up whenever I try to install certain kinds of programs (presumably kinds that want to change a system driver or something).
    My key is 'genuine' it was after certain updates were installed but was easily fixed. UAC is at default 'permanantly'.
    My PC has never had any 'virus' of any kind since usig XP Pro 4 years ago.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC USA
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Do a search for MsMpEng.exe BEFORE you install MSE. Secondly, you get the honor of being a member of Spynet if you install MSE. You can't opt out. And in Microsofts words;

    In some instances, some personal information might be unintentionally sent to Microsoft
    Do your part!!! Report SPAM to http://www.spamcop.net/

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bender View Post
    Do a search for MsMpEng.exe BEFORE you install MSE. Secondly, you get the honor of being a member of Spynet if you install MSE. You can't opt out. And in Microsofts words;
    If that's the case I'm thinking I'll just leave well enough alone. I do a bit of banking on this computer so I don't want to risk any data being sent that's not supposed to be sent. With CIS I'm pretty sure they have a privacy guarantee which makes me feel a little better about things. Plus, as far as I know CIS doesn't send any info without first asking me (except when dealing with new unrecognized programs in which case if I look up a file and it's not in their database it gets sent but, I get to choose what I'm looking up so it's still very private).
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •