Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How come when I click on anything to use IE 8 I find that it is being provided by Yahoo?
    Can it be changed back to to not being provided by Yahoo?
    Also I find that IE 8 seems to slow down my XP PC.
    Is there a way to dump IE8 and go back to IE 6?
    Catz

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I think the "provided by" is added to the registry if you use an ISP's install disk. However, there might be other ways that creeps in there.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Jscher2000 for your reply.

    I did a google search for an answer and found that if I went to Microsoft a re-downloaded IE8 it would un-install the original and reinstall IE8 from microsoft.
    When I restarted my PC and checked to see if the yahoo provider was still there, it was gone.

    Still would like to know how, as you said, "it creeps in there".

    Still some strange things out there.
    Catz

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Do you use Yahoo as a home page? Did you install any apps that may have installed a Yahoo branded version of IE? Did you install the Yahoo tool bar? There seems to be a myriad of ways these, even reputable, sites have to install their own versions of everything we use. It is so important to read everything that pops up during an installation because it seems all apps now are paid to ask if you want some toolbar or other to install along with the app. Go Figure!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Catz View Post
    Thanks Jscher2000 for your reply.

    I did a google search for an answer and found that if I went to Microsoft a re-downloaded IE8 it would un-install the original and reinstall IE8 from microsoft.
    When I restarted my PC and checked to see if the yahoo provider was still there, it was gone.

    Still would like to know how, as you said, "it creeps in there".

    Still some strange things out there.
    If installing something that comes with the Yahoo toolbar it'll update the registry with a key that outputs that little message (unless you stop it!).
    You can search the Registry for the text "Provided by Yahoo" and remove it from there if you choose.

    Usual caveats about backup etc apply.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted for your reply.

    The answer to "Do you use Yahoo as a home page"?
    No, I just set my home page at a neutral Microsoft.com.

    As to "Did you install any apps that may have installed a Yahoo branded version of IE"?
    I think so, because the XP OS disk that I used to reformatted that PC is kind of old and came with IE 6, so I went looking for IE 8 on the net and must have (without knowing it) downloaded it from a source that would have provided it by Yahoo.

    As to "It is so important to read everything that pops up during an installation because it seems all apps now are paid to ask if you want some tool bar or other to install along with the app. Go Figure!"

    Boy that is so true.

    It used to be you could download something by just hitting the "next" promp button without getting more than you wanted.
    Now-days a guy has to read almost every word/symbol/character/etc that comes with a download to avoid winding up with everything including the kitchen sink!

    Lesson learned again..........the hard way.......as usual!
    Catz

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Gfamily for your reply.
    There are so many locations in the registry.
    Where in the registry would I look for that?
    Catz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •