Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have "inherited" and aging but still capable (of running XP) desktop and I would like to wipe the hard drive and re-install the OS and certain apps. As the Gateway OS disk that came with the machine is the original XP version, would I need to reinstall all 3 service packs or would installing service pack 3 be sufficient?

    I also have an OEM version of XP SP2. I realize that this should only be used on one computer, but would I bee able to install from that, using the product key Gateway provided with the "inherited" machine, and just install SP3?

    Is there a preferred way to go about this?

    Thanks for your guidance.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastover, NC, USA
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I've used an OEM copy of XP on two installs on Gateway machines with no problems. In my situation the product key was never asked for. Both machines passed the Microsoft Genuine Validation.

    I determined what drivers I needed and had them downloaded prior to the install. I wiped the drive with Darik's Boot and Nuke and then did the install. Loaded the drivers, did the Windows Updates and haven't had any problems. Being your OEM disc has SP2 the updates will only download what you need.

    JB

  3. #3
    Star Lounger hammondmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hammond, IN, USA
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Be prepared for "a long winter's nap" while you do the updates!!! I am doing a similar install, but updating all my hardware prior to a Win7 upgrade. I have SP3, but WAU added 79 additional updates. I attempted a Recovery Install with TI 10, but it did not work. So, I have had to do the install from scratch--a long row to hoe when you have many apps. Have fun otherwise.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Service Pack 3 will be sufficient. Download the service pack before you start the reinstall.
    Install the service pack immediately upon clean install, even before drivers.
    The more your operating system is in pristine shape the less likely a service pack or software related issue. Put the downloaded service pack away for safe keeping on another partition or CD/DVD disk.
    Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to all for the pointers.

    I'm still not clear on whether it's preferable to use the Gateway supplied XP CD (version prior to any service packs) that came with the machine or use the OEM XP SP2 CD. Are there any benefits to using the Gateway CD? Can I install from the OEM CD using the product Key from the gateway CD? I have reinstalled OS's before, but did not have to decide between using an older version supplied by the machine maker or a newer OEM version. Thankfully, it appears that the only service pack I'll need to install is SP# in either case.

    Thanks again for any direction.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Go with the disk that is made specifically for the computer you will be doing the reinstall on.
    An OEM disk will be specific to that make and model of computer. Don't over complicate things anymore than they need be.
    You may want to decrapify your freshly installed XP OEM clean install prior to installing a service pack if that OEM disk contains unwanted applications.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the clarification Clint.

    I appreciate it.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clint Rossmere View Post
    Service Pack 3 will be sufficient. Download the service pack before you start the reinstall.
    Install the service pack immediately upon clean install, even before drivers.
    The more your operating system is in pristine shape the less likely a service pack or software related issue. Put the downloaded service pack away for safe keeping on another partition or CD/DVD disk.
    Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers
    I thought that for XP you had to have SP1 installed to install either SP2 or SP3. I remember an update to the Windows Installer being introduced with SP1 that is required to install any other SP. BUT I could be remembering incorrectly.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chillicothe, Missouri
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am doing this also and have other problems, I'll get to that in a second.
    I re-downloaded SP3 and the instructions said that it was enough to upgrade everything, but SP1a was needed. SP1 is not enough.

    Here is the quote from; http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ice-pack-3-sp3


    "In order to install SP3, you must first have Windows XP Service Pack 1a (SP1a) or Service Pack 2 (SP2) installed. These are also available when you have Automatic Updates turned on."

    Now for my problem, I hope that this is ok. I am removing the ransom ware "Internet Security Suite" and have had to "repair" the install from the install settings.
    Repair console did not fix the problem, so I have done a REPAIR from the full install menu.
    When I try to install SP2 it goes through the steps and then near the end I get a error message that I don't have the right privilege. Then the program does a complete
    uninstall of all the SP2 files. I don't know what else to do...

    Jackie
    in Frozen and snowy Missouri

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you are trying to do the Windows Update install of SP-2, try downloading the complete SP-2 package from Windows XP SP2. Don't be put off by the "Network Installation" stuff. It is just the full SP2 package.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chillicothe, Missouri
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    JoeP, I have an original mailed to me from MS copy of SP2. I am trying to fix an Inspiron 1501 from Dell. I think it is possibly a 64 bit processor... I've installed Malwarebytes and AVAST! and they have cleaned out most if not all of the bugs. I've tried as the user and in Safe mode as Administrator. I am going to burn the SP1a file and then burn the image of SP3 and see if I can bypass what ever problems I an seeing.

    Jackie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •