Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    North Carolina USA in winter, Maine in summer
    Thanks
    I am relatively new to Win 7 and obviously have much to learn about this OS having stayed with XP for so long. I am running a Dell Studio XPS 8100 3.2GHz machine with 8GB RAM and a 1TB HDD which I purchased this spring. All patches/updates (at least that I am aware of!) are up to date. My computer is running 24/7 and I am finding that it is periodically rebooting (apparently generally overnight when I am not around, at least that seems tol be the case). I do NOT have MS updates set to install automatically, only to download so that I can review and install at my leisure. I do not like the idea of some unknown source rebooting my computer without my knowledge or consent. If anyone could give me suggestions as to why this is occurring and, hopefully, how to prevent it, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    First thing to check if you haven't is the power options in Control panel and see if you have require a password turned on. If the system is going to sleep overnight and you mouse it awake and require password is on, you are taken back to the login page and it might seem the computer has rebooted but it hasn't.

If that's not it, you probably have to start checking the event viewer for activity at the time it reboots and see if you can pinpoint it to a source or coincidence.

Thanks
    Malware

You've touched on one thing I always look at first: viruses and spyware. Do make sure that your scanners are running, and are being regularly updated with the latest databases of spyware and virus definitions. For anti-spyware tools, that should happen daily - anti-spyware tools typically do so less often.